Skip to main content

Library COVID-19 Dashboard

Library COVID-19 Dashboard
Learn more about updates to library services

We are here to help

Contact Us

HISTORY 600: America and China (Fall 2020) : Multimedia resources in English

Multimedia resources

China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980

  • Mix of scans of manuscripts, images, and rare printed materials.
  • Provides a wide variety of English-language original source material detailing China¹s interaction with the West from Macartney¹s first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.
  • Provides multiple perspectives ­ from politicians, diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists, and documents many of the key events that happened in this period.
  • Use the search directories to get indexes of names, places, and topics with related material.

 

AP Newsroom, 1826-present

  • Includes Associated Press material comprised of captioned photographs, maps, charts, logos, illustrations, news stories, audio clips, etc. from the 1800s to 48 hours ago.
  • Searchable on multiple criteria, including time, people, concept, color, captions, text, etc.
  • After clicking on the link above, you may be taken to a  "Select a Resource" page. From there, click the text "AP Newsroom" in the middle of the screen to go into the database.
  • Max of five UW-Madison users at one time. 

 

Moving Image Archive

  • The Internet Archive's Moving Images library of free movies, films, and videos.
  • Contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
  • Contains some movies from the 1930s and 1940s.
  • FedFlix collection contains " the best movies of the United States Government."
  • WARNING! Many movies on this site don't have information about who made them or when they were made. You may have to consult other (print) sources to find such information, or you may not be able to find such information at all.

Ask a Librarian

 

Need help?

Loading chat

or click for more options ...

Librarian

Beth Harper's picture
Beth Harper
Contact:
Memorial Library
University of Wisconsin-Madison