Skip to main content

Library COVID-19 Dashboard

Library COVID-19 Dashboard
Learn more about updates to library services

We are here to help

Contact Us

HISTORY 600: America and China (Fall 2020) : Historical documents in Chinese

Historical documents from the governments

Theory China 理论中国

  • TheoryChina is established by the Central Compilation & Translation Bureau. Its contents mainly in the following four categories: policy documents of China’s supreme leading bodies, works of Chinese leaders, China’s philosophical and social studies, and introductory materials about China’s basic conditions and policies.
  • The documentations are available on full-text search, bookmark, and highlight.
  • The resources are accessible by unblocking Adobe Flash.

The Database of the National People's Congress (NPC)

  •  A collection of on National People's Congress, from the 1st Session of 1st NPC to present. It also covers the People's Daily. The illustrations and videos are included.
  • It supports full-text search.

Chinese Foreign Policy Database from Wilson Center

  • This resource collects 1000s of documents from Chinese and international archives on insight into China’s foreign policy since 1949 and its relationship to ideology, revolution, the economy, and traditional Chinese culture. The Database is supported by the MacArthur Foundation and the Henry Luce Foundation.
  • It provides a timeline to browse the history of Chinese foreign policy.

國史館檔案史料文物查詢系統

  • The Academia Historia Office provides these multiple government materials in Taiwan.
  • The registration is for free with submitting passport information.
  • Some materials are not open to the public.

近代史研究所檔案館

  • The archives contain important original historical records, and serve as a major repository for research on modern Chinese history. The archives were established within the Institute of Modern History. The records in the archives are divided between diplomatic archives (1860s-1970s), economic archives (1903-1980s), personal papers, etc. The total length of all the files combined is approximately 10,000 meters.
  • The registration is for free with submitting ID information.
  • Some materials are not open to the public.

 

Historical newspapers

Chinese Periodical Full-text Database 民国时期期刊全文数据库 1911-1949

  • This database covers over 20,000 journal titles and contains a mass of information on all aspects of life, including political, economic, military, social, and livelihood. It provides first-hand information to study the history of the Republic of China.
  • The database is available at full-text search within text and images.

Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers

  • It provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of the provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
  • The database is available at full-text search within text and images.

China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980

  • It is based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library in London, supplemented by additional sources from Cambridge University Library, the Church Missionary Society Archive, the Council for World Missions Library, Duke University, the National Archives at Kew, the Alexander Turnbull Library at the National Library of New Zealand and Yale Divinity Library. In addition, it has included a range of rare printed materials including missionary periodicals, atlases, and books which help to contextualize the other sources.
  • The database is available at full-text search within text and images.

Shen Bao 申報 1872-1949

  • It was the longest-lasting and probably the most influential newspaper in modern China. Its history is enmeshed in the major Chinese political and cultural developments of the first half of the twentieth century.
  • The database is available at full-text search within text and images.

Ta Kung Pao Full Text Database 大公報 1902-1949

  • Expected to be available through December 31, 2020.
  • Ta Kung Pao is the oldest active Chinese language newspaper in China. Founded in Tianjin in 1902, the paper is state-owned. it covers a range of political, economic, and cultural topics.
  • The database is available at full-text search within text and images.

Ask a Librarian

 

Need help?

Loading chat

or click for more options ...

Subject Librarian

Anlin Yang's picture
Anlin Yang
Contact:
Memorial Library
Room 412E

Subject Librarian

Beth Harper's picture
Beth Harper
Contact:
Memorial Library
University of Wisconsin-Madison