Skip to main content

We are here to help

Contact Us

HISTORY 600: America and China (Fall 2020) : Full-text newspapers in English

Full-text newspapers from the U.S. and China

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (United States)

New York Times, 1851-2013
Chicago Tribune, 1849-1989
Los Angeles Times, 1881-1989
San Francisco Chronicle, 1865-1922
New York Tribune/Herald Tribune, 1841-1962

  • Can search and view the full text of all articles, ads, photos.
  • Can also view the full page a particular article, ad, photo, etc, appears on.
  • Can limit by "document type."

 

Propaganda and the Chinese Press Global Perspectives, 1946-1996

  • Archive of articles published by Xinhua, or New China News Agency, from 1946 to 1996.
    As the official organ of China’s Communist Party, the archive provides a view of the country’s perspective on international issues and events and provide insight on the role of Communist mass media in Chinese culture, the Cold War, and 20th-century world history.
  • The materials were collected and translated into English by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) as part of its intelligence gathering operations. The FBIS was a U.S. government organization that became part of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).
  • Full-text articles from this database do NOT always display well in the Chrome browser.  If you're having problems...
    • ...if you're using Chrome, download the articles, OR
    • ...consider using a different browser with this database.

 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Communist Historical Newspaper Collection, 1919 - 2013

  • Searchable database of publications of the Communist Party USA, published from 1919 to 2013.
  • Includes full-text and full-image newspaper articles published from 1893 to 1988.

 

North China Herald, 1850-1926 

  • Prime English-language source for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s. (Online archive only goes through 1926.)
  • Published in Shanghai.   
  • As the official journal for British consular notifications, and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, it is the point of reference for a range of foreign and Chinese activities; translations of Chinese official notifications and news were regularly included.    
  • Fully text-searchable. 
  • Use the historical terms/vocabulary when conducting search, for example, the British refer the Opium War as “Arrow War” or “Anglo-French expedition to China,” “First Anglo-Chinese War,” or “Second Anglo-Chinese War.” 
  • If page images aren't displaying, make sure "JPEG" is selected next to "Select Viewer" above the page image display.
  • If you revise your search, or switch to "advanced search mode," make sure the "Newspaper Location" includes "Shanghai" as "state" or "city."

Non-U.S. news articles translated by U.S. gov't

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996

  • Translations, by the U.S. government, of foreign press media stories.
  • When limiting a search by date range, you must put a space before and after the hyphen (-) that goes between the beginning and ending years.
  • In February 1941, the Roosevelt administration authorized the creation of the Foreign Broadcast Monitoring Service (FBMS). The mandate of the FBMS was to record, translate, transcribe and analyze foreign shortwave propaganda radio programs. In 1947 FBMS was renamed the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Its original mission was centered on radio and press agency monitoring and translation. But in 1967, FBIS' mission was expanded to include foreign mass media whether it was conveyed by radio, television, or print.
  • Full-text articles from this database do NOT always display well in the Chrome browser.  If you're having problems...
    • ...if you're using Chrome, download the articles, OR
    • ...consider using a different browser with this database.

 

Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991

  • Translated reports, publications, news broadcasts covering facets of the Cold War, focusing on news outlets in the Soviet Union, Eastern Europe, China, North Korea, Vietnam and more.
  • Materials in this archive were collected, transcribed and translated into English by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), from 1945 and 1991, under the authority of the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) as part of its intelligence gathering operations.
  • Full-text articles from this database do NOT always display well in the Chrome browser.  If you're having problems...
    • ...if you're using Chrome, download the articles, OR
    • ...consider using a different browser with this database.

Ask a Librarian

 

Need help?

Loading chat

or click for more options ...

Full-text newspapers from the UK and Australia

Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2006

  • Page facsimiles of all the issues of the London Times
  • Search by keyword and date and limit search to "publication sections" such as: Advertising, Pictures, People, News, Editorials.
  • Sundays are not included.

 

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

  • Digital access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
  • Each page has been digitally reproduced in full colour.
  • Every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations.

 

Trove: Digitized Newspapers from the National Library of Australia, 1802-1995

  • Provides searchable and browseable access to full text of Australian newspapers and magazines (1802+).
  • "Advanced search" mode gives you more options in searching, including the option to limit articles by length/word count.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Beth Harper
Contact:
Memorial Library
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Government Information Specialist