Digital Printmaking : Home
A course guide to support the Digital Printmaking and Print Thesis seminars.
Reference
- Oxford Art Online Oxford Art Online provides searchable full text for five resources. (1) Grove Art Online contains the searchable full text of the original 34-volume Dictionary of Art (1996), with ongoing revisions and updates. Encyclopedic articles cover all aspects of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphics, contemporary art forms such as performance and installation, architecture, decorative arts, and photography) from prehistory to the present. History of film-making is excluded. (2) Benezit Dictionary of Artists is a searchable database including biographical entries and additional information for over 170,000 artists. (3) The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics contains over 600 searchable articles surveying major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of the arts. Also included in Oxford Art Online are full text of (4) The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms and (5) The Oxford Companion to Western Art. (Updates vary)
Artists' Books at the Kohler Art Library
Practical Resources for Digital Printmaking
Mastering Digital Printing by
"Mastering Digital Printing: The Photographer's and Artist's Guide to High-Quality Digital Output" is the first in-depth reference to the new world of digital printing for photography and fine art. This authoritative guide provides a thorough introduction to this exploding medium, instruction in the latest digital printing techniques, and an inspiring Gallery Showcase of the best digitally imaged and printed art and photography. Whether you are a photographer, digital or traditional artist, printmaker, art educator, or art marketer, this book will help you master digital printing!
Creating Exhibition-Quality Digital Prints: A Photographer's Guide to Developing RAW Files and Optimising Print Quality by
Focusing on using digital techniques to replicate the traditional darkroom methods used to produce fine, exhibition-quality prints, Tim Daly takes the raw digital file as his starting point and illustrates a wide range of techniques for drawing out the very best version of the latent file. Illustrated with step-by-step projects, showing each stage from start to finish, and driven by a photographic aesthetic rather than straight software techniques, this guide shows how to deliver eye-catching prints in a wide range of styles, sizes, and locations. Case studies, which follow the entire process from raw file to final print, helping readers understand how to develop a personalized printing style using Photoshop, Adobe Lightroom, and professional digital output, are also included.
The State of the Real by
New media, virtual reality, artificial intelligence, biotechnology, cybernetics: are the latest technologies push back the very limits of 'reality'. The nature of the real in the digital age is ever more hotly debated and the place of these debates in visual culture can hardly be overstated. Innovative and provocative, this book brings together the latest research on 'the state of the real' by practitioners and commentators across the disciplines of photography, film, media studies, critical theory and fine art. Engaging with the work of critics and thinkers as varied as Linda Nochlin, Lev Manovich and Donna Harroway, Lyotard, Baudrillard and Barthes, "The State of the Real" looks first at the different ways in which 'realism' and reality have been understood in recent art history, with a particular focus on debates about the real within photography. Emphasising the role of art in shaping, as well as reflecting, notions of the real, the book features contributions from a number of contemporary artists and showcases a new photoessay by artist Andrew Lee.The collection looks finally towards advanced technologies and the virtual world in a section which concludes with a specially commissioned contribution by acclaimed thinker Slavoj Zizek. This is an indispensable volume for students of 'the digital age' across the fields of art and photography, film, media studies and critical and visual theory.
PostScript by Example by
PostScript by Example is packed with 500 examples and 700 pictures to help users and programmers at all levels become knowledgeable in PostScript--the industry-standard page-description language developed by Adobe Systems Inc. Loaded with hands-on exercises and step-by-step instructions, this book covers two broad areas. You will start with the basic concept of PostScript--graphics, text, and language. Then continue with "build-it-yourself" PostScript tools to construct fonts, patterns, forms, and manage your printing environment. Henry McGilton and Mary Campione provide invaluable information for both beginning and experienced PostScript users on how to: Lay foundations of the PostScript painting model--paths, graphic states, text, clipping, transformations, arcs, curves, and images Understand PostScript Level 2 patterns, forms, images, composite fonts, halftones, and color models. Construct error handlers, download fonts and PostScript programs, and understand Encapsulated PostScript. The most comprehensive hands-on PostScript guide ever, PostScript by Example is your toolkit for building effective PostScript programs. 0201632284B04062001
Archaeologies of Vision by
While many acknowledge that Friedrich Nietzsche and Michel Foucault have redefined our notions of time and history, few recognize the crucial role that "the infinite relation" between seeing and saying (as Foucault put it) plays in their work. Gary Shapiro reveals, for the first time, the full extent of Nietzsche and Foucault's concern with the visual. Shapiro explores the whole range of Foucault's writings on visual art, including the theory of visual resistance, the concept of the phantasm or simulacrum, and his interrogation of the relation of painting, language, and power in artists from Bosch to Warhol. Shapiro also shows through an excavation of little-known writings that the visual is a major theme in Nietzsche's thought. In addition to explaining the significance of Nietzsche's analysis of Raphael, D#65533;rer, and Claude Lorrain, he examines the philosopher's understanding of the visual dimension of Greek theater and Wagnerian opera and offers a powerful new reading of Thus Spoke Zarathustra. Archaeologies of Vision will be a landmark work for all scholars of visual culture as well as for those engaged with continental philosophy.
Electronic Culture by
Commentators from diverse fields provocatively ponder what Heidegger termed the age of the world picture. His essay and 30 others appear under the rubrics of history, representation: photography and after, theory, and media/identity/culture. The discussion centers on the implications of cyberspace
The Photographic Image in Digital Culture by
What does a new technology of images mean for the ways in which we encounter and use images in everyday life: in advertising, entertainment, news, evidence? And within our domestic and private worlds for our sense of self and indentity; our view of the body and our sexuality? The Photographic Image in Digital Culture explores the technological transformation of the image and its implications for photography. Contributors investigate such issues as the relationship of technological change to visual culture; the new discourses of techno-culture'; medicine's new vision of the body, and interactive pornography. They also examine the cultural meanings of new surveillance images; shifts in the domestic consumption of images and their relationship to memory, history and biography; the social uses of video and computer games and the changing role of photography as document and as art.
Hollywood Movie Posters: 1914-1990 by
Everyone loves the movies, and the movie posters in this book provide a colorful visual history of the movies, from the early silent days to the big blockbusters of recent years. The evolution of the dream factory is charted through spectacular graphics used by individual studios to advertise their movies. Posters, like the films they represent, demonstrate stylistic developments, in response to changing social and political conditions, throughout the 20th century. The glamour, pathos and sheer drama of Hollywood through the decades is colorfully brought to life in over 400 illustrations of rare and collectible movie posters. This book provides an entertaining appreciation of the evolution of Hollywood and cinematic poster art, as well as a guide to the value of this advertising material. This collectors guide enables instant understanding and identification in one volume. Essential to the novice buyer and an invaluable visual reference for experienced collectors, this book is a celebration of Hollywood.
The Science of Art by
In this pathbreaking and richly illustrated book, Martin Kemp examines the major optically oriented examples of artistic theory and practice from Brunelleschi’s invention of perspective and its exploitation by Leonardo and Durer to the beginnings of photography. In a discussion of color theory, Kemp traces two main traditions of color science: the Aristotelian tradition of primary colors and Newton’s prismatic theory that influenced Runge, Turner, and Seurat. His monumental book not only adds to our understanding of a large group of individual works of art but also provides valuable information for all those interested in the interaction between science and art.
Printmakers' secrets by
This book comprises contributions from individual printmakers, richly illustrated with examples of their work and studios. Each of the nearly seventy participants (all members of London's Royal Society of Painter-Printmakers, including several Royal Academicians) has been allocated a double page in which to offer an intimate insight into his or her working procedures, giving the reader the illusion of witnessing - behind the scenes as it were - the daily creative striving of the artist and the patient technical procedures that often underpin it. Their revelations range from the story of a near encounter with Picasso to the benefits of S. W. Hayter's uncompromising tuition at the celebrated Atelier 17 and from the taxing preparation of a mezzotint plate to the acceptance of the sometimes unforeseen but ultimately happy outcome of printing large collagraph images.
Magical Secrets about Chine Colle: Pasting, Printing, Mounting, and Leafing Step-by-Step by
Cultural Writing. Art. Includes a DVD. Brian Shure has expanded and revised his popular CHINE COLLE: A PRINTER'S HANDBOOK to create the fourth book in Crown Point's MAGICAL SECRETS series. In this new edition, Shure gives step-by-step instructions for printing and pasting to a support sheet, and adapts chine colle techniques for working with collage and mounting paper, fabric, and other materials with or without a press. Additional chapters discuss sizing paper or fabric, gold leafing, and scroll mounting. Examples of chine colle prints and step-by-step techniques are illustrated in color.
Printmaking at the Edge by
Printmaking at the Edge explores the innovative techniques printmakers are using today. The topics covered range from the challenges of new technology and materials (for example, the latest high-tech plates and speciality papers and inks) to the persistence of traditional techniques and the new directions they are taking (for example, digital techniques being used with silkscreen and wood engraving). All scales and stages of printmaking are dealt with. This book is a vital source of information for students and includes interviews with prominent international artists, revealing the secrets behind their work and the possibilities for the future. Included is the work of artists from UK, USA, Canada, Japan, Poland, Argentina, Nicaragua, Belgium, Lithuania, Iceland, Austria, Finland, Sweden, Iraq, Korea, Taiwan and Australia.
Printmaking: A Contemporary Perspective by
Printmaking: A Contemporary Perspective is a solid overview of current work in this exciting area, taking into account the history and the different techniques available for artists working today. Using the work of contemporary artists, Printmaking tells the story of the progression of this art form and highlights the most important technological advances and influential artists. Printmaking is split into sections including: Reworking Traditions; Painterly Approaches; the Hybrid Print; Political Imperatives; the Sculptor’s Print; Installation and Expanded Print; and New Technology. Each section discusses the origin of print styles, early artists, and contemporary artists working with print today. The various methods of printing, such as monoprinting, linocut and screen-printing, through to etching and lithography are discussed throughout these sections in relation to the artists that work with them. Exploring contemporary approaches to this ever-growing medium, Printmaking discusses the work of some of the most exciting artists working in the field today. Artists featured include Richard Hamilton, Damien Hirst, Roni Horn, Masami Teraoka, Kara Walker, Oscar Munos, Willie Cole, Banksy and Brooklyn based Faile Collective. The work of influential artists in the field throughout history are also included, such as Rembrandt, Goya, Degas, Picasso, Paula Rego, and George Baselitz, to show the effect their work has had on a younger generation of artists.
