INTER-LS 215: Communicating about Careers (Spring 2024) : Find Articles

Register for Free Access to NYTimes.com and WSJ.com through UW-Madison

Click "View Online" in the linked page to connect to an online source for the newspaper or magazine.

The following are different ways to access databases on the Library website for searching for articles:

Browse By Subject/Type
Organization of databases by subject or discipline and source type
Introductory Databases
Short list of databases by subject
Top 10 Databases
10 most popular databases
UW Libraries Search Box – Dropdown Options
Options allow searching a subset of the Libraries' resources (books, articles, journals, etc.)

Articles Search
Search across multiple databases at once. Search includes some but not all databases. Use options at top of search results page to refine a search.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a general academic index that indexes almost 3,000 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 1,200.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly journal articles, books, and reports from all broad areas of research. Not all sources are peer-reviewed and scholarly. Be sure to access this database from this page to link to full text content in library databases through Find It.@UW-Madison links.

Follow (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:

access the full article (when available)
determine if the journal is available in print (Library Catalog)
request a copy of the article (PDF) if the full article is not available online (Request a Copy link)

If you already have a citation, use the Citation Search to find the full article.

Use AND to combine different words to find all those words, in any order - usually narrows search, reduces results
- artificial intelligence AND hiring
Use OR to combine similar words or synonyms or variations - usually broadens search, increases results
- hiring OR recruitment
Use quotation marks ( " ") to search words as a phrase - usually narrows search, reduces results
- "artificial intelligence"
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find varied endings of words and singular and plural forms - usually broadens search, increases results
- algorith* finds algorithm, algorithms, algorithmic
Look at Subject Terms to find additional keywords and use them to find relevant and specific results.
Look for an option to limit to Scholarly Journals on the left side of search results in most databases

For more search tips, see this tutorial: