Skip to Main Content

Medical Sciences-Veterinary Medicine 678: Small Animal Internal Medicine (Summer 2021) : Articles/Article Databases

Finding Articles/Core Databases

The UW Libraries has several databases that can be used to search for veterinary science and animal health research. These databases can be found in the Animal Sciences/Veterinary Medicine section of the UW Libraries Database library, or the Top 10 Databases list.

Core and commonly used Veterinary Medicine article databases are listed below.

Databases accessed through the UW Libraries website have additional links to any online full-text of the indexed articles (free, or UW subscription-based). This is true even for free search tools like Pubmed or GoogleScholar.  

If you already have a citation, use the Citation Search form to find the full-text article.

 

Core Databases

Specialized Information Databases

Finding Full Text

To find the full text of articles from database search results:

  1. In a database, click the Find it button or the "Find It at UW Madison" link next to an article citation.
  2. Under Full Text Online, click the link. It may take you directly to the article, or you might need to choose the date, volume, issue and scan for the article. If one link doesn't work, try another.

If the FindIT system says that there is No Full Text Online, you can request a copy of the article from the library:

  1. Check the Library Catalog to see if we own a print copy of the journal. Be sure to check the Library Has part of the record to make sure the correct date and volume are there before going to the library.
  2. Click Request a Copy at the end of the Find It results page. Log in with your NetID. It will transfer the citation from the database to the article request form - fill in any missing required information. You'll get an email when a PDF of the article is available - usually in 1-3 days - at no charge to you.