HISTORY 201: The Historian's Craft: Russia Engages America, America Engages Russia (Fall 2025) : Finding Primary Sources (Documents)

The DNSA includes over 100,000 declassified primary documents relating to US foreign policy. Includes collections relating to the Cuban Missile Crisis, "Soviet estimate: U.S. analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947-1991", nuclear arms control, and "U.S.-Russia Relations: From the Fall of the Soviet Union to the Rise of Putin, 1991-2000".

Digitized materials related to Eastern Europe and the Cold War from the Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library's archival collections at the University of Texas Austin.

Formerly classified U.S. government documents about efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.

This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relates to commercial and trade relations beginning in the Tsarist Russia period and extending through Khrushchev period in Soviet history. It contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats including materials on treaties, general conditions affecting trade, imports and exports, laws and regulations, customs administration, tariffs, and ports of entry activities.

This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1961 on the USSR and consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the U.S. Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies.

Archive of documents and files from the U.S. State Department and British Foreign Office related to diplomatic and military issues in various countries and regions around the world from 1911-1975.

The collection consists of three FOIA files from the G.H.W. Bush Presidential Library. The first file contains material related to the Moscow summit and the coup in August 1991 against Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev. This file contains cables sent to the White House situation room concerning day-by-day developments, and conversations between President Bush and other foreign leaders. The second file, which concerns the dissolution of the Soviet Union, highlights the Bush administration's response to the dissolution and the formation of the Commonwealth of Independent States. Documents here concern economic and humanitarian support, diplomatic recognition of the republics, aiding the transition to democratic governments and market economies, and defense issues, particularly the fate and control over the former Soviet Union's nuclear arsenal. The last FOIA file contains materials on the meeting between President Bush and President Mikhail Gorbachev in Malta (December 2-3, 1989) and the subsequent meetings between President Bush and NATO leaders in Brussels (December 3- 4, 1989).

Collection of documents from the Digital National Security Archive of every formal exchange between U.S., Soviet, and Russian presidents from 1985-1991, leading to the peaceful ending of the Cold War. Contains Summit transcripts and private correspondence from both Soviet and U.S. sources.

The Stalin Digital Archive (SDA) is the result of collaboration between the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI) and Yale University Press. SDA provides online access to Stalin's correspondence, library (with notations), documents, and more, which were previously only available in hard copy in the RGASPI archive.

Publications and archive of the U.K. Royal Institute of International Affairs. Module 1: 1920-1979; Module 2: 1980-2008

Part of the Wilson Center Digital Archive. Since its establishment in August 1991, the Cold War International History Project (CWIHP) has amassed a tremendous collection of archival documents on the Cold War era from the once secret archives of former communist countries.