Skip to main content

Library COVID-19 Dashboard

Library COVID-19 Dashboard
Learn more about updates to library services

We are here to help

Contact Us

ASIAN/RELIG ST 473: Meditation in Indian Buddhism and Hinduism (Fall 2020) : Find Background Information

Reference Sources

To find background information, consult reference sources such as online or print subject encyclopedias or dictionaries.

Reference sources are useful for:

  • Overviews of a topic
  • Definitions and spellings of terms
  • Verification of facts
  • Bibliographies that provide sources for further research

Credo Reference

Use this box to search keywords (e.g., yoga, Hinduism, etc.) to find short articles in online encylopedias and dictionaries that are part of an online library resource called Credo Reference.

 

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference online

Oxford Reference online: Premium Collection combines rich and scholarly resources with authoritative, quick-reference coverage of the full subject spectrum. Over 130 subject dictionaries, plus the World Encyclopedia, offer unrivalled coverage of everything from art to accountancy, politics to physics, and computing to classics. It includes English dictionaries, and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, and Italian. Over 900,000 entries across 25 subjects, including an expanding range of Oxford Companions, and the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.

Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog to find online and print encyclopedias or dictionaries.  In your search, combine the word encyclopedia with a keyword for a topic (e.g., mindfulness, Hinduism, etc.).
 
Search the Library Catalog