HAPI is a database of evaluation and measurement tools designed to facilitate health and psychosocial studies. The measurement instruments available include questionnaires, checklists, index measures, rating scales, project techniques, tests, interview schedules, and a variety of other means of evaluation. The database currently contains more than 45,000 records.
You have more search options if you click the "More Fields" link. You can also search the index from this page, which is helpful in determining keywords to use in your search. HAPI does not provide the actual tests, it is only a guide to help you determine what test you would like to use.
[Note: this searches in conjunction with Tests in Print]
The MMY contains descriptive information and full-text reviews of commercially published English-language tests. It covers more than 1850 standardized educational, personality, vocational aptitude, psychological, and related tests. Information provided about each test includes name, classification, author, publisher, price, time requirements, existence of validity and reliability data, score descriptions, intended populations, and critical reviews.
Use the advanced search feature to combine search terms and specify where the terms are located (e.g. citation vs. full-text). Use the index to locate specific terms within the database. Searchable by test author or name, publisher and much more.
[Note: this searches with Mental Measurements Yearbooks]
Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test.
Other Databases to Try
Some journal articles include full tests/measurements in their content. This is another way to search for tests/measurements and their uses in practice.
CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health) Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals and provides full text for 337 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
PsycINFO's advanced search feature has a dropdown box with the term "Tests and Measures" (TM) which will help you locate articles that include tests or discuss tests and measures in a significant way. Search with the term "measurement" in the PsycINFO thesaurus to browse various subsets of tests and measures terms to use for your search. There is also a tutorial to walk you through using PsycINFO for finding tests and measures.
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides free access to MEDLINE, a database of more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from approximately 5000 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
PubMed is most useful for tests and measures if looking for articles that discuss the use of certain measurement instruments.Occasionally, articles will include full copies of tests as an appendix. While this is okay for your personal use, obtaining permission for widespread use is needed.
The Sociological Abstracts database indexes and abstracts 2,000 worldwide journals in sociology. Relevant dissertations have been added since 1986. Also included is the Social Planning Policy and Development Abstracts (SOPODA) database, which covers applied sociology journal article abstracts since 1980. Formerly sociofile.