- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- POLI SCI 401: International Development and Cooperation (Summer 2019)
- General Research Resources
POLI SCI 401: International Development and Cooperation (Summer 2019) : General Research Resources
Reference Works - Reference works are print or online resources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, that are research tools that can help you with your paper or project. Reference sources provide answers to specific questions, provide background information; or direct you to additional information sources. These resources are designed to be consulted rather than read through. Reference materials can be arranged alphabetically, topically, or chronologically. Some reference resources that the UW-Madison libraries provide can be access through the libraries website using your NetID.
Databases - A database is an online catalog that holds information about published items. It's a collection of sources that may include books, films, government documents, articles, etc. Databases are searchable and some specialize in a certain subject, like literature or sociology. The UW-Madison Libraries acquire subscriptions to numerous restricted access databases (i.e. JSTOR, International African Bibliography Online, and African Writers Series), which you can access through the libraries website with your NetID.
Web Sources: An online source is material you find online. It can be an online newspaper, magazine or television website. Peer-reviewed journals, webpages, forums and blogs are also online sources. Some other names for online sources are electronic sources, web sources and Internet sources. Since so many sources are available online, it's important to know which ones are reliable and how to cite them.