- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- University of Wisconsin-Madison New Educator/TA Guide
- Supporting Student Needs
University of Wisconsin-Madison New Educator/TA Guide : Supporting Student Needs
Libraries and Campus Resources
Sometimes the line between library resources and campus resources is blurry. That's okay, we are all here to help you, and the students you may teach. These resources can be used by you to support the students you teach, and to support your own research and well being.
BioCommons: A place where bioscience students can think about their unique path, get inspired, find answers, cross boundaries, and build community.
Writing Center: Both undergraduate and graduate writers can get help at any stage of the writing process—from choosing a topic to drafting and revising—for any writing project.
- GUTS: Registered Student Organization (RSO) supported by segregated fees and dedicated to connecting UW students with volunteer tutors for assistance with academic courses, study skills, conversational English, and intercultural exchange. We provide free tutoring and mentoring to hundreds of students and university affiliates each semester!
- ULC: The Undergraduate Learning Center (ULC) provides tutoring and academic support programs for undergraduates interested in studying engineering. Our programs focus on supporting challenging courses that students take to progress in their engineering department. The ULC also provides support in select core engineering, math, statistics and science courses. The ULC is a place where students study, form study groups, and discuss engineering concepts and problem solving strategies with their peers and with the tutors.
Tutorials & Research Help: Need help getting started or finding sources? Check out the text and video tutorials below for help on conducting research, accessing library resources, and using library services.
Workshops: Learn about library resources, citation managers, grants, and more at a free drop-in workshop taught by library staff.
Ask-a-Librarian: Have a question? Librarians are available to help you via email, call, chat, drop in or by appointment...whatever works best for you!
UHS: University Health Services (UHS) is the UW-Madison student health center. Physicians, nurses, psychologists, and counselors offer high-quality health care and wellness services that are culturally respectful, fiscally responsible, and developmentally appropriate to student needs. UHS mental health providers offer an open, safe, and confidential environment to help students through issues that may interfere with their development, well-being, and academic productivity. 24-hour crisis services available.
Academic Integrity: Academic Integrity is critical to the mission of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, a research institution with high academic standards and rigor. All members of the University community play a role in fostering an environment in which student learning is achieved in a fair, just, and honest way.
Dean of Students Office: Assists students with a variety of concerns by working directly with them and connecting them to appropriate resources on campus. We also consult with and serve as a resource for faculty and staff, parents, families, and friends, working together to serve students.
CALS: CALS academic advisors have a wealth of knowledge about courses on campus, as well as policies and procedures. They are caring staff who want students to succeed. Any student experiencing academic difficulty or personal struggles is encouraged to talk to their advisor about how their individual situation may affect their academic performance.
COE: Program advisors can help current College of Engineering students with questions about accessing courses, navigating degree requirements, resolving academic issues and more.
Basic Information Literacy: Sift and Winnow is a tutorial consisting of 6 separate modules including, Ecosystem of information, Scholarly communication, Information-seeking strategies, Evaluating search results, Refining search strategies and Getting help from librarians.
UW Libraries Plagiarism Tutorial: This is an interactive tutorial with knowledge checks explaining what plagiarism is, and how to avoid it through ethical research,writing, and citing practices
FindIT: Hundreds of millions of records for journal articles, e-journals, news articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, and much more.
Request a Document: Interlibrary Loan (ILL) offers free access to materials needed for coursework and scholarly research which are not currently available within the UW-Madison or UW System collections. This service is limited to UW-Madison faculty, staff and students.
Databases: 1300 databases subscribed to by UW-Madison Libraries, searchable by title and description
Course Reserves: Materials such as books, textbooks, articles, videos, solution sets, and exams that an instructor has selected for use by students enrolled in a specific course are placed “on reserve” at the UW-Madison Libraries. Physical materials are located at various libraries across campus. Online content, or e-reserves (articles, book chapters, excerpts, etc.), may be accessed both on and off campus.
Subject Guides: to discover databases, subject guides, staff, and other library resources supporting that subject
Request a Purchase: If we don't have a title in our collection, you can request that we consider purchasing it.