CLASSICS 322: The Romans (Spring 2024) : Articles

Find Articles: Use Article Databases

Library Article Search
This allows you to search across many different academic journals and databases at once.
JSTOR The Scholarly Journal Archive
JSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access more than 500 titles in many fields, including Classical Studies. You can use the "Advanced Search" feature to limit your search only to materials related to Classical Studies.
Project Muse
Project MUSE has full-text journals and eBooks in the humanities and social sciences, including fields such as art, anthropology, literature, film, theatre, history, ethnic and cultural studies, music, philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology and women's studies.

Find Full Text from Article Database

When you locate an article in a database:

Look for full text version: PDF, HTML, or Linked Full Text
If there is not a full text version, click Find It button or Find It @ UW-Madison
- Click on link next to "Full text available"
- If full text is not available:
  - Click Look for Print and Other Formats in the Library Catalog to search for a print version of the journal
  - Click Request a Copy to request that an article PDF be sent to you

Special Database: l'Année philologique

L’Année philologique (link leads to index; you might need to login with your NetID to access it) is a specialized bibliographic index of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. It does not contain full-text articles, but it does contain abstracts and citations for articles published in journals related to the study of Ancient Greece and Rome from around the world. New abstracts and citations are added annually.

L’Année philologique covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics—which includes early Christian texts and patristics—Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy. For students interested in pursuing high-level research in Classical Studies, this index provides an invaluable look at emerging research and global trends in the field.

The online version of this publication includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I, which was published in 1928.