Skip to main content

Library COVID-19 Dashboard

Library COVID-19 Dashboard
Learn more about updates to library services

We are here to help

Contact Us

PORTUG 361: Portuguese Civilization (Fall 2019) : Finding Articles

Overview for Article Database Search

  1. Use the Advanced Search option in each database.
  2. Decide which field/s to use in your search (keywords, title, author, subject).
  3. If using keywords, remember to use boolean operators (AND, OR, quotations, truncation sign, etc.)
  4. Narrow your search by clicking on the options on the side navigation bar or in the subjects listed in each individual record.
  5. Note if the article needed is available full-text online or if you will need to dig more to get to it. Use the Find It button available in the database. Some articles might be available only in print.
  6. Use Citation Search if you have a specific book or article citation.

Specific Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted.  (Updated daily)

Literature Research Center

This article database includes information on a large number of authors and literary works taken from Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and other sources. In addition to biographical information, LRC includes full-text articles from more than 130 literary journals, a dictionary of literary terms, and links to 5,000 relevant Web sites and special collections. (Updates ongoing)

MLA International Bibliography

The Modern Languages Association International Bibliography indexes 4,000 periodicals in English and other languages as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Its subject matter includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, film, and folklore.  Many articles listed have no abstracts. Approximately 50,000 citations from journals in JSTOR's Language and Literature collection are also included, providing access back to the 1880s for those titles. (Updated 10 times per year)

List of online resources related to the Iberian Peninsula, Latin America, and the Caribbean available at UW-Madison

Database Search Strategies Tutorials

This tutorial shows you how to use database search strategies such as AND, OR, quotation marks, and truncation.

This tutorial shows you how to search for articles in article databases.  It shows you how to use AND to combine terms, limit to articles from scholarly journals or by date of publication, use subject headings, and abstract to find keywords, find full text of articles, and use tools to generate or export citations.