Skip to main content

We are here to help

Contact Us

Identifying Period Styles for Architecture and Interiors) : Primary Source Illustrations

Historical Newspapers

Newspapers and magazines are good sources of imagery contemporary to the date of publication.  For example, newspapers from the 1930s contain advertisements for current-manufacture goods, as well as contemporary photographs.

UW-Madison libraries subscribe to several online historical newspaper collections dating back to the institution of photojournalism and before.  For example, 

When searching, look for abilities to search only standalone photos, display ads, or within image captions.

Historical Magazines

Steenbock Library has print copies of older home-related journals that you may be interested in browsing.  For example:

Kohler Art Library has print copies of older architectural journals that you may be interested in browsing.  For example:

Some older scanned periodicals are available in full text via HathiTrust.  Search for journal titles.  

Digital Archives

More and more digitial collections of archival prints and photographs are made available every year.  A very few suggestions are:

Image Databases

Search image databases for pictures of buildings and objects from your time period.

  • ARTSTOR
    Use Advanced Search to define a date range and select "architecture" or "decorative arts" classifications.
    Or keyword search for objects of interest.
  • ART MUSEUM IMAGE GALLERY
    Under the limits section, select a range of "years created" and object type.
    Or keyword search for objects of interest.
  • AP IMAGES
    Select date range and enter search term.  This database provides Associated Press wireservice photos.
  • CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
    Browse categories or keyword search.

See the guide: Finding Art Images
for more suggstions on image searching.