- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- MERIT
- K-8 Reading by Lexile, Interest, or Grade Level
- K-8 Reading by Interest or Subject
K-8 Reading by Lexile, Interest, or Grade Level : K-8 Reading by Interest or Subject
Resources on how to find and access books for K-8 learners based on lexile, interest, subject, or grade level.
Ask a Librarian at MERIT
If chat is offline, click here to Ask a Librarian via UW-Madison Libraries general library help chat.
Search Tip
Becoming familiar with a particular database will serve you well. Take the time to go through their user tutorials or spending time looking through the menus. Search skills are essential for finding useful classroom resources.
Helpful Websites and Resources
- AdLit.org - Books by ThemeAdLit.org's booklists are prepared by our literature advisors and are chosen to engage reluctant or struggling readers. Browse our lists below for history, mystery, fantasy, nonfiction, short stories, poetry, and more. Sometimes it just takes one great book to turn a kid into a reader!
- Awards and Best-of-the-Year Lists (CCBC)There are many different awards for children's books given for different purposes and themes. This link provides a link to many of the various awards including the Caldecott, Carnegie, Coretta Scott King, Michael Printz, Pura Belpre, and the Rainbow List.
- Best Books for StudentsThis website provides links to a variety of themed booklists for your students.
- CCBC BooklistsThese booklists include a wide range of subjects and interests levels including (but not limited to) families, labor, social justice, sports, multicultural, fantasy, award winners, and poetry. The CCBC (Cooperative Children's Book Center) also publishes their "CCBC Choices" each year.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive DatabaseThis database is easily searchable under the "Additional Search Qualifiers" by choosing a genre.
- Great Schools: Elementary School Reading ListsScroll down and you will find booklists galore from interests such as humor, mystery, science and nature, and peer pressure.
- NoveList K-8Under the "More" menu at the top of the database there is a drop-down menu. Hoover here in order to click on "Subjects". Type the particular subject or theme you are interested in and find a list of books related to that subject. This database includes fiction books.
- Teaching BooksSearching via subject or genre is possible through clicking on "Advanced Search". From here you are able to choose a particular "Curricular Area" or "Genre". Browse the other search fields in order to better cater your results.
Read-alikes and Pairings
Are you looking for pairings and/or read-alikes? Check out these lists and feel free to email us with your recommendations.
- ALA Pairing Nonfiction Books & Web SitesAdministered by the National Council of Teachers of English, the Orbis Pictus Award recognizes excellence in nonfiction, and the books below provide rich learning opportunities for students in grades 2–8.
- CCBC - Made for Each Other: Paired Texts for the Common Core StandardsMiddle and High School Classrooms
Compiled by Megan Schliesman and Merri V. Lindgren
© 2013 Cooperative Children's Book Center - Fiction - Nonfiction PairingsThe Blog of the Eastern Connecticut YA Roundtable
- K-8 NovelistAfter searching for a particular title, a link for "Read-Alikes" will appear under the book description, click here fore more books like the one searched.
- Pairing Texts with Movies to Promote Comprehension and DiscussionThematic pairings of novels/short stories with movies can help students access difficult texts and can lead to deeper comprehension and lively classroom discussion. This article suggests pairings for some commonly assigned middle and high school texts.
- Scholastic Book WizardFind read alikes using the "Similar Books" search feature.
