Physical and Chemical Properties : Home
An index of resources for physical and chemical properties
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsAlmost every data search on a chemical property should begin in the CRC. (Online or print)
Steenbock Ref: QD65 H32
AMP Ref: QD65 H32The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a basic reference book for chemical and physical data. Material is updated and revised and new material included in each annual. Sections include basic constants, units conversion factors and mathematical tables, chemical and physics terminology, organic and inorganic compounds, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, properties of atoms, particles, solids, fluids, polymers, and sections on geophysics, astronomy, and laboratory safety.
- Lange's Handbook of ChemistryAnother major reference work for chemists. (Print only)
Chem Ref: QD65 L362 2005
Steenbock: QD65 L362 1999Lange's lists the properties of over 4000 organic and 1400 inorganic compounds. The new edition features new tables covering viscosity, thermal conductivity, critical constants, explosion limits, and vapor density, and more.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.Regularly updated encyclopedia with entries on chemicals, technology, and industrial processes. (Online)The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. Comparable to Ullmann's Encyclopedia.
- Merck IndexChem Ref: 14th Edition, 2006
Older editions available at other locations.The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact.
- SpringerMaterialsSpringerMaterials provides access to curated data on 3000+ physical and chemical properties of 250,000+ materials and chemical systems (mixtures, alloys, etc)Relevant to research in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Materials Science and most Engineering disciplines. Data sources currently include the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files and specialized databases on thermophysical properties, polymer thermodynamics, adsorption isotherms, and 32,000+ substance profiles. 1883 – present.
- eEROS: Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic SynthesisOnline encyclopedia containing articles and information on more than 5,100 chemical reagents and catalysts.
- SciFinderRequires registration using your @wisc email. Search by chemical name, identification #, chemical structure, or molecular formula. Make sure you are looking at Experimental Properties, not the Predicted Properties (usually have to scroll past the Predicted Properties).SciFinder is used to access information in selected Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases: CAPlus, CARegistry, CAREACTS, CHEMCATS, and CHEMLISTS, plus Medline (1946-present). It permits searching in a variety of ways: author name, research topic, substance identifier (CAS Registry Number, chemical name), chemical structure/substructure, or chemical reaction.
- ReaxysRequires users to create an account before using. Includes data from the Beilstein/Gmelin databases as well as patent information. Search by chemical name, identification #, chemical structure, or molecular formula. Good place to find data for organic compounds.Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Combined data from three sources: The Beilstein Database, The Gmelin Database, and The Patent Chemistry Database.
- Organic Chemistry Data CollectionOriginally curated by UW-Madison professor Hans Reich. Topics include structural information, organic reactions, nomenclature, physical properties, and spectroscopic data.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookProvides thermodynamic properties and various spectra for a large array of compounds. Compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
- Additional NIST DatabasesList of free databases from NIST - includes physical constants, thermodynamic properties and the JANAF Tables, atomic spectra, phase diagrams, and more
Other Reference Sources
- Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference DataThis journal provides critically evaluated physical and chemical property data, fully documented as to the original sources and the criteria used for evaluation, preferably with uncertainty analysis.
UW-Madison does not have subscription access to this journal, so full text can be obtained in the following ways:
-Request via Interlibrary Loan (ILL); we will scan our print copies or get scans from another library
-1972-2012 volumes: Some are freely available online - may not contain every article from each volume
-Monographs and Supplements from the JPCRD
- DIPPR DataThe Design Institute for Physical Property (DIPPR) Data Project published critically evaluated data on mostly pure organic compounds. UW-Madison owns 14 of their publications in print.Created in 1978 under the auspices of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers the Design Institute for Physical Properties (DIPPR) has become the premier research collaboration on physical property data to satisfy process engineering needs.
About this Guide
This site is an index to physical and chemical properties data located primarily in the UW-Madison Libraries online with some print resources included.
For assistance locating property data, contact firstname.lastname@example.org.