Skip to main content

We are here to help

Contact Us

Finding Fiction at Memorial : Browse

Memorial Library has a lot of fiction (it takes up the equivalent of several floors in the library), but it can be tricky to find. This Guide can help you find something fun to read.

Call Number Ranges: Overview and List

Our fiction is shelved by Library of Congress (LC) call number.

These call numbers will give you a general idea of what country the author came from:

  • Ex: British fiction is shelved together, as is American fiction

The ranges provided in this guide are listed by topic. Each topic is separated out and has links to print literature guides (if applicable), as well as a list of the call number ranges and locations in the stacks.

Scroll down or click on a link to your topic of interest (left-hand side).

Interfiled with fiction you’ll find scholarly non-fiction about authors and their works.

Feel free to print out the call number range sheet or grab one of the Finding Fiction brochures at the reference desk (in process).

African Literature

African literature titles have the call number range of PL8009.5-8014, which are located on 4M South.

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

American Literature

American literature titles are subdivided into two categories: collections and individual authors. 

  • Collections have the call number range of PS501-688 and are located on 2M South.
  • Individual authors have two ranges: PS700-1899 (located on 2M South) and PS1900-3623 (located on 2 North)

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

Anthologies of Short Fiction

Anthologies of short fiction have the call number range of PN6120.15-6120.95 and are located on 2M South.

Not sure what to read? Try this title:

Arabic Literature

Arabic literature titles have a call number range of PJ7695.8-7876, which are located on 5 South.

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

Chinese Literature

Chinese literature titles are subdivided into two categories: Collections and Individual authors & works.

  • Collections have a call number range of PL2450-2659
  • Individual authors & works have a call number range of PL2661-2799

Both of these ranges are split between the East Asian Collection and the regular stacks. Due to this, the books are split between floor 4 South (in Chinese script) and 4M South.

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

English Literature

English literature titles are subdivided into two categories: Collections and Individual authors.

  • Collections have a call number range of PR1098-1369
  • Individual authors have a call number range of PR3991-6126
  • Both categories are located on 2M South

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

French Literature

French literature titles have a call number range of PQ1100-3999, which are located on 4M South.

Back to topics

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

German Literature

German literature titles have a call number range of PT1100-4897, which are located on 4M South.

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

Graphic Novels

Graphic novels have call numbers beginning with PN 6727, which are located on 2M South.

Note: College Library has a more extensive collection of graphic novels.

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

Hindi and Urdu Literature

Hindi and Hindustani literature titles have a call number range of PK2098-2142, which are located at 5 South.

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

Hebrew Literature

Hebrew literature titles have a call number range of PJ 5053-5060, which are located on 5 South.

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

Italian Literature

Italian literature titles have a call number range of PQ4201-5999, which are located on 4M South.

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

Japanese Literature

Japanese literature titles have a call number range of PL752-867, which are split between 4 South and 4M South.

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

Korean Literature

Korean literature titles have a call number range of PL969.8-998, which are split between 4 South and 4M South.

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

Russian Literature

Russian literature titles have a call number range of PG3300-3490, which are located on 5 South.

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

Scandinavian Literature

Scandinavian literature titles have a call number range of PT1001-7099, which are located on 4M South.

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

Spanish Literature

Spanish literature titles have a general call number range of PQ6170-8560 and are subdivided into three categories: Collections; Individual authors (1700-ca. 1868); and Provincial, local, and colonial (includes Spanish America)

  • Collections have a call number range of PQ6170-6269
  • Individual authors have a call number range of PQ6500-6726
  • Provincial, local, and colonial titles have a call number range of PQ7000-8929
    • Spanish America title have a call number range of PQ7081-8560
  • All of these call numbers are located on 4M South.

Not sure what to read? See this guide for ideas:

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Ellen Jacks
Contact:
608-262-6431
Website