- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Tibetan Buddhism
- Reference Resources
Tibetan Buddhism : Reference Resources
This guide contains resources on Tibetan Buddhism at UW-Madison and elsewhere in the world.
Founder of NyingmaPa Lineage
Founder of Kagyud Pa Lineage : Marpa Lotsawa
Founder of Sakya Lineage: Khon Konchok Gyalpo
Founder of Gelukpa Lineage
Reference Works
Reference Sources are encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies, atlases, and other works that are good starting points for learning the main ideas about a topic. They usually are found in non-circulating Reference Collections or are E-books. Here are some for Tibetan Buddhism (links go to the UW-Madison Catalog record).
Encyclopedias
-
A Dictionary of Buddhism
by
Call Number: 294.303 K439d2004ISBN: 0192800620Publication Date: 2008-09-04
Some sample of ecncyclopedias on Tibetan Buddhism.
-
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
by
Call Number: BQ128 E62 2004ISBN: 0028657187Publication Date: 20042 volumes -
Sacred Texts: BuddhismAn online collection of many sacred texts from multiple Buddhist traditions.
Dictionaries
-
Naṅ don rig paʾi miṅ tshig Bod-Dbyin śan sbyar = Tibetan- English dictionary of Buddhist terminology
by
Call Number: BQ 130 R54 1986ISBN: 0828823197Publication Date: 1986 -
Tibetan-English Buddhist historical glossary byCall Number: BQ266 D37 1990ISBN: 817030203XPublication Date: 1990
-
Biographical dictionary of Tibet and Tibetan Buddhism byCall Number: BQ7920 K5
Glossaries
-
A Glossary of Buddhist Terminology
Subject Guide
Todd Michelson-Ambelang
Contact:
Memorial Library, 416
728 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
728 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-3475
Subjects: South / Southeast Asia