- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Funding for Individuals
- Subscription Databases/Search Engines
Funding for Individuals : Subscription Databases/Search Engines
The following databases include funding opportunities awarded directly to individuals. They are particularly appropriate for scholars, researchers, students, artists and other academic clientele.
Navigation
- GIC HomeGrants Information Collection Web site Home Page
- About the GICMission, Vision, and Location of the Grants Information Collection
- Foundation CenterNation's leading authority on Philanthropy, Grants, and Giving.
- Candid Funding Information Network locationsSearch for other network partners located in all 50 states, as well as several countries.
Research and Sponsored Programs - University of Wisconsin
- Research and Sponsored ProgramsRSP promotes and facilitates the research, education, and outreach missions of the University of Wisconsin-Madison by supporting and administering extramurally sponsored programs.
Ask a Librarian
Recommended Funding Databases for Individuals
These resources are available for on-site use only in the Grants Information Collection at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Memorial Library. (UW-Madison students, faculty, staff may access these databases on- or off-site using a UW-Madison NetID unless otherwise noted.)
- PivotSearch over 28,000 active funding opportunities and over 3 billion past awarded grants from
private and federal funding sources. Covers a wide array of subjects and disciplines. (Note: You must set up a personal login account using your wisc.edu email - free to UW-Madison affiliates - to save searches and track opportunities. However, a login is not necessary to use the database.)
Need help?
- Foundation Grants to IndividualsFunding includes educational support, general welfare, arts and cultural support, awards, prizes, and grants by nomination. For use in Memorial Library only.
- Grants and Awards Available to American WritersIncludes, more than 1,000 listings of domestic and foreign grants, literary awards, fellowships, and residencies available to American writers. Searchable by keyword, genre, organization, or deadline.
- GrantselectThe GrantSelect provides information on over 10,000 grants available to both individuals and organizations from 4,000 federal, state, and local governments, commercial organizations, associations, and private foundations. Emphasis is on U.S. programs, yet some foreign programs are included as well. Grants can be searched by type, subject, geographic area, sponsor, population groups, and more.
Subject Guide
Stay Current
Keep up to date with the world of philanthropy.
- Chronicle of PhilanthropySearch news, article, blogs, and more related to philanthropy.
Patrons must inside a UW-Madison library or affiliated with UW-Madison to view. - Non-Profit TimesLearn more an non-profit management by reading the Non-Profit Times.
- Philanthropy News DigestBrowse and search for news items, jobs, RFPs, and more from this free service from the Foundation Center.