African-American Periodicals, 1825–1995, contains fully searchable content from 174 titles published by African-Americans in the 19th and 20th centuries. These include academic titles, as well as commercial magazines, institutional bulletins, annual reports, and other genres, including many short-lived publications not found in any libraries beyond the Wisconsin Historical Society.
Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, fine arts, social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. Content sources are the UMI microfilm collections Early British Periodicals, English Literary British Periodicals, and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts.
New full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables, and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
Included is an online version of Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802–1907). Also included are: Index to Legal Periodical Literature (1786–1922), Index to Periodicals (1890–1902), and An Alphabetical Subject Index and Encyclopedia to Periodical Articles on Religion (1890–1899).
At present these include the following: Eighteenth Century Journals, I (76 journals held at Oxford University's Bodleian Library) AND Eighteenth Century Journals, II (70 journals and newspapers held at the University of Texas at Austin's Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center). (Updates unknown)
Harper's Magazine (or simply Harper's) is a monthly general-interest magazine covering literature, politics, culture, and the arts. The second oldest continuously-published monthly magazine in the United States, Harper's was launched in June 1850. Its early issues included material that had already been published in England, but the publication soon began to print the work of American artists and writers. It subsequently published commentaries by prominent politicians from both sides of the Atlantic, such as Winston Churchill and Woodrow Wilson. Other notable contributors include Horatio Alger, Stephen A. Douglas, Robert Frost, Henry James, Jack London, Theodore Roosevelt, Mark Twain, and John Updike. (Updated monthly)
HarpWeek is the searchable electronic version of the Civil War years of Harper's Weekly, one of the most important American periodicals of the nineteenth century. Includes images of all the pages, both illustrations and text. 1857–1865
The New Yorker is a weekly magazine, started in 1925, with a mix of reporting on national and international politics and culture, profiles of people, humor and cartoons, fiction and poetry, and reviews and criticism of books, movies, theatre, classical and popular music, television, art, and fashion.