Education Glossaries : Home
Ask a Librarian at MERIT
If chat is offline, click here to Ask a Librarian via UW-Madison Libraries general library help chat.
Online Education Glossaries
Selected websites that have glossaries of commonly-used education terms.
- EdSource Online Glossary and AcronymsYou have to fill out a short survey first, but this is an excellent source for both terms and acronyms.
- Glossary of Reading TermsThis pdf document includes terms defined by the Florida Center for Reading Research.
- Learn NC: Education ReferenceMaintained by the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill School of Education.
- Acronym FinderFind the meaning of an acronym, abbreviation, or initial. Not education-specific.
- Glossary of Acronyms and AbbreviationsFrom the US Dept. of Education, abbreviations and acronyms used in Performance and Accountability Reports.
- North Carolina Public Schools: Education AcronymsA few of these are specific to North Carolina, but overall a great resource.
ERIC Thesaurus of Descriptors
You'll find scope notes/definitions for most of the terms. Also a helpful resource for searching the ERIC article database.
Glossaries in the Reference Stacks at MERIT
The following books can be found in the Reference Stacks at MERIT. They can be checked out for one day.
- The Greenwood Dictionary of Education by John W. Collins III and Nancy Patricia O’BrienCall Number: LB15 .G68 2003ISBN: 0897748603Publication Date: 2003
- The Education Week Guide to K-12 Terminology by Mary-Ellen Phelps DeilyCall Number: LB15 E335 2009ISBN: 0470406682
- Handbook of Educational Terms and Applications by Arthur K. Ellis; Jeffrey T. FoutsCall Number: LB15 E419 1996ISBN: 1883001218Publication Date: 1996-03-01
- The Facts on File Dictionary of Education by Jay M. Shafritz, Richard P. Koeppe, & Elizabeth W. SoperCall Number: LB15 S43 1988ISBN: 0816016364
- Dictionary of Multicultural Education by Carl A. Grant and Gloria Ladson-BillingsCall Number: LC1099 D53 1997ISBN: 0897747984
- Dictionary of Special Education and Rehabilitation by Glenn A. VergasonCall Number: LC3957 K4 1990ISBN: 0891082123
- Edspeak by Diane RavitchCall Number: LB15 R285 2007ISBN: 9781416605768Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Glossaries in the Circulating Stacks at MERIT
The following books can be found in the Professional Stacks at MERIT. They can be checked out for standard loan periods.
- Education and the Law: A Dictionary by Bonnie B. TaylorCall Number: KF4117 T39 1996ISBN: 0874368138
- American Educators' Encyclopedia by Edward L. Dejnozka and David E. KapelCall Number: LB15 .D37 1991ISBN: 0313252696
- The Language of Learning: A Guide to Education Terms by J. Lynn McBrien and Ronald S. BrandtCall Number: LB15 M32 1997ISBN: 0871202743
This MERIT LibGuide was inspired by a similar guide prepared by Grand Valley State University Libraries.
368 Teacher Education Bldg.
225 N. Mills
Madison, WI 53706
225 N. Mills
Madison, WI 53706
Social:Facebook Page Twitter Page