AIFS annually awards more than $250,000 in scholarships to summer and semester students who submit application materials demonstrating high academic achievement. Scholarships are available for both summer and semester programs.
Excellent, well-documented advice and descriptions of foreign study programs, with links to their respective home pages. Sections of this site include Financial Aid for Study Abroad - well worth checking, and Low-cost Student Travel. From the FinAid: SmartStudent Guide to Financial Aid by Mark Kantrowitz.
Information is provided here for both U.S. citizens and citizens of other nations on the Fulbright Student Program, the Fulbright Scholar Program, and Fulbright Related Programs. The Institute of International Education assists the Department of State in conducting the programs at the pre- and postdoctoral levels; the Council for International Exchange of Scholars administers the Visiting Scholars Programs.
An excellent all-purpose site for every aspect of planning for study abroad. Includes databases, country-specific study abroad opportunities, and much more, including informational links to financial aid resources.
The Institute of International Education is a long-standing association which manages international education programs and has provided information on financial assistance. It also assists the United States Information Agency, the principal administrator of the Fulbright Program (described above), in conducting the latter at both the predoctoral and postdoctoral levels. Another program it is known for is the National Security Education Program grant.
An extensive list of funding resources particularly for scholars and others who wish to undertake study or research abroad. Maintained by staff of the University of Iowa's Division of Sponsored Programs.
Describes this nonprofit educational organization which offers study abroad programs for undergraduate and graduate students. Some scholarships are provided by this organization, with suggestions of others available from elsewhere.
Describes the mission of the hundreds of NSF-sponsored international scientific programs abroad throughout the world, with links to application and award information by geographic region. The NSF International Fellowship program and other special grants for international activities are also included.
Information on Boren Scholarships and Fellowships, which offer a chance for study in nearly every world region, including Africa, Asia, Central and Eastern Europe, Eurasia, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East. (Western Europe, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand are excluded.) If you apply for a Boren award, you are required to study a language as part of your program.
Information on Rotary Foundation grants and awards. The Rotary Foundation "offers a broad range of humanitarian, intercultural, and educational programs and activities designed to improve the human condition and advance the organization's ultimate goal of world understanding and peace."
Fellowship and grant program information and application information are compiled here. Grants are in the areas of social sciences for research and projects both in the U.S. and many areas abroad. Also has some opportunities for those in the humanities and sciences. The SSRC also sponsors numerous conferences, plus a number of awards are also available to foreign nationals.
An amazing "online study abroad information resource" which claims to have listings of "thousands" of study abroad programs in over 100 countries, searchable by country, academic year, subject, and by program language. Includes internships. Be sure to see its link to Sources and Tips on Financial Aid and check out the Links to Useful Sites. There is a full-text online Handbook by Bill Hoffa, which has a section, "Costs," and Financial Aid on financing study abroad.
A site not to be missed. Offers information on numerous opportunities and types of programs for educational and cultural foreign exchange programs, with links to a variety of departments and offices of the U.S. federal government which administer these programs.
The link to Grants and Awards describes educational and cultural exchange and fellowship, grant, and traineeship programs between the United States and Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden. The AFS, established in 1910 and located in New York, is a publicly supported, nonprofit institution.
Provides a listing of funding opportunities for post-secondary level awards and traineeships open to non- Canadians for study and research in Canada. Funding opportunities include non-governmental as well as Canadian federal and provincial governmental programs. Other useful information for prospective foreign students in Canada is provided.
An organization "fostering relationships between America's third sector and third sector organizations that have emerged in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union." Outdated, but may be useful to some.
The DAAD is a "self-governing organization of the institutions of higher education in German" which promotes academic exchanges of students and faculty. Funding opportunities are listed along with other helpful items of information about research and study in Germany.
IREX describes itself as a "US nonprofit organization specializing in higher education, Internet development, independent media, and civil society programs in the United States, Europe, Eurasia, the Near East, and Asia." It includes listing of funding programs for international and U.S. scholars "aimed at helping to develop civil societies" within the Newly Independent States, Central and Eastern Europe, and Eurasia (Mongolia and China).