Microbiology : Find Articles

Highly Cited Microbiology Journals

Top Microbiology journals based on 2016 ISI Journal Impact Factors from Journal Citation Reports

Get Full Text Articles

Click the button or Find It at UW Madison link in most databases to:

find online article OR
find if journal is available in print (Library Catalog) OR
request a free pdf if not available locally (Request a Copy/Article and Book Delivery)

If you already have a citation, use this form to search for your article.

Article Databases

For a complete list of article databases recommended for microbiology research, please see our Database Library. Core databases are listed below:

Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
Covers immunology, vaccinations, and diseases of human and animals, as well as the application, use, and effects of bacteria in agriculture, soil, and the environment.
Biological Abstracts
The Biological Abstracts database indexes over 4,000 journals annually and contains over 5 million records. Subject matter covered includes anatomy, bacteriology, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, biotechnology, cell biology, clinical medicine, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, radiation and systematic biology, toxicology, virology, and zoology. All citations include abstracts. (Updated bi-monthly)
CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health
Scholarly database covering agriculture, nutrition, and natural resources worldwide.
Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
Covers such topics as antibiotic and antimicrobial agents, food microbiology, soil microbiology, plant diseases, biodegradation, isolation and identification of microorganisms.
PubMed
Especially useful for medical microbiology topics.
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)
1970-present (updated weekly); citation search feature allows you to find more recent articles that cite a particular article of interest.

Keeping Current with the Literature

Library databases and publishers offer personal accounts for saved searches, free email alerts, and RSS feeds to help you keep current with the literature.

Keeping Current Research Guide