Irish Genealogy: Reference Sources : Guides
Ask a Librarian
About this Guide
This bibliography includes mainly items found at Memorial Library and items also found at the Wisconsin State Historical Society Library. Some items are available on the Web.
This bibliography was compiled by Irene Hansen and Barbara Walden in April, 2006.
Research Guides
- Begley, Donal F., ed. Irish genealogy: a record finder. Dublin, Ireland: Heraldic Artists, c1981.Call Number: CS483 I74, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Stacks Regular Size Shelving
- Begley, Donal F. The ancestor trail in Ireland: a companion guide. Dublin, Ireland: Heraldic Artists, c1985. Series: Heraldry and genealogy series.Call Number: CS482 B43 1985, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Stacks Regular Size Shelving
- Corish, Patrick J. & David C. Sheehy. Records of the Irish Catholic Church. Dublin ; Portland, OR : Irish Academic Press, 2001.Series: Maynooth research guides for Irish local history ; no. 3Call Number: DA905 C67 2001, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South
- Ulster Genealogical and Historical Guild. Directory of Irish family history research. Belfast : The Guild, c1992-Call Number: CS497 U44 U432, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Stacks Oversize
- Falley, Margaret Dickson. Irish and Scotch-Irish ancestral research: a guide to the genealogical records, methods and sources in Ireland. Evanston, Ill.: [M. D. Falley?, 1962].Call Number: CS483 F32, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Stacks Regular Size ShelvingContents: v. 1. Repositories and records.--v. 2. Bibliography and family index.
- Franklin, Margaret. A guide to tracing your Limerick ancestors. Glenageary, Ireland : Flyleaf Press, 2003.Call Number: CS497 L5 F73 2003, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South
- Grenham, John. Tracing your Irish ancestors: the complete guide. 2nd ed. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1999.Call Number: CS483 G74 1999, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South
- MacLysaght, Edward. Bibliography of Irish family history. 2nd ed. Blackrock, County Dublin, Ireland: Irish Academic Press, 1982.Call Number: CS483 M32 1982, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Stacks Regular Size Shelving
- Mitchell, Brian. A guide to Irish parish registers. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1988.Call Number: CD1118.5 A1 M58 1988, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South
- Nolan, William and Anngret Simms, eds. Irish towns: a guide to sources. Templeogue, Dublin: Geography Publications, c1998.Call Number: DA905 I717 1998, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South
- Ryan, James G., ed. Irish church records: their history, availability, and use in family and local history research. New ed., 2nd ed. Glenageary, Co. Dublin, Ireland: Flyleaf Press, 2001.Call Number: CS496 C56 I75 2001, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South
- Ryan, James G. Irish records: sources for family & local history. Salt Lake City, UT: Ancestry Pub., c1988.Call Number: CS483 R92 1988, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South
- Ryan, James G. Sources for Irish family history: a listing of books and articles on the history of Irish families. Glenageary, Co. Dublin, Ireland: Flyleaf Press, 2001.Call Number: CS483 R84 2001, MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference Stacks, Floor 2 South
Wisconsin Historical Society Library Archives
The Wisconsin Historical Society Library Archives holds one of the top 5 genealogical collections in the country. See information about collections and services.