- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- DS 264/764: Dimensions of Material Culture (Spring 2025)
- Sources for Object Research
DS 264/764: Dimensions of Material Culture (Spring 2025) : Sources for Object Research
This LibraryGuide provides suggested resources for the object research final assignment of DS 264.
Librarian
Encyclopedias
-
Material Culture
by
Call Number: various libraries--E161 M35 1985This collection of essays brings together examinations of the progress, problems, and potential of material culture studies in America. -
History and Material Culture: A Student's Guide to Approaching Alternative Sources
by
How to use visual, oral, aural, and virtual sources to research material culture to Each chapter introduces the reader to the source, suggests the methodological and theoretical questions historians should keep in mind when using it, and provides case studies to illustrate best practice in analysis and interpretation.
-
How to research material culture: a guideThis How-To-Guide shows how to identify, define, and analyze objects by offering hands-on models for producing everything from research goals, methodologies, and work plans, to resources for finding and accessing object collections or presenting research.
Interdisciplinary Article Databases
-
Academic Search PremierLarge, multidisciplinary EBSCO database encompassing most topics.
-
America: History and LifeEBSCO database that provides access to journal articles covering topics related to United States and Canadian history.
-
Family & Social Studies WorldwideCovers a wide range of current issues with an emphasis on how they impact families.
-
Humanities International CompleteComprehensive database covering more than 2,100 journals, books and other important reference sources published worldwide in the humanities.
-
JSTOR: the scholarly journal archiveArchive of scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics. Journal coverage is volume 1 of each title until 3-5 years ago (embargo period varies by title).
-
MLA International BibliographyA subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics, including art. An essential inter-disciplinary database, it is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. Not full-text.
-
Project MuseProvides digital humanities and social sciences books and journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies. Contains topic area for art and architecture.
-
SocINDEXCovers all aspects of sociology.