Cytology Program Research Guide : Find Articles
Finding Articles from Databases
You can access databases from the library home page. Use the dropdown menu at the Catalog button to navigate to Databases. We subscribe to many databases that index scientific literature.
There are several ways to access databases:
1) Search by the title of the database (for example, 'PubMed')
2) Use the Browse by Subject/Type page to discover databases that index literature on your research topic
3) Visit the Top 10 Databases page to access commonly used databases.
The databases listed below are popular starting points for most science and medical topics:
-
DynaMed PlusDynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Content is written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis.
-
PubMedCovers the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also provides access to NCBI databases covering molecular biology. From the NIH's National Library of Medicine.
Accessing PubMed (a free public database) through our link will help you bypass paywalls. -
ScopusLarge, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
-
UpToDateWith UpToDate, you can get specific, detailed answers to your clinical questions from the office, exam room or bedside. UpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 15 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, plus graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references and a drug database.
-
Web of ScienceA collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions across the globe.
More Information
-
Library Database Strategies for STEM ResearchLearn how to use library databases to find relevant scholarly articles with this module.
-
Primary and Secondary STEM ArticlesA tutorial on differentiating between primary articles and secondary (review) articles in STEM disciplines.
Getting Full Text Articles & Book Chapters
Follow 
(Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:
- access online full text (when available)
- see if the journal or book is available in print if it is not accessible online
- request a free pdf of the article or book chapter if full text is not available online (Request a Copy)
If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.
