Selected Resources for Graduate Students in Soil Science : Find Research Articles & Data

Selecting and Searching Databases by Subject or Type

You can access databases from the library home page (library.wisc.edu). Use the dropdown menu at the Catalog button to navigate to Databases.

There are several ways to browse and to select databases:

1) Search by the title of the database (for example, 'EconLit').

2) Use the Browse by Subject/Type page to discover databases that index literature on your research topic.

3) Visit the Top 10 Databases page to quickly access a selection of popularly-used databases.

Consider the databases listed, below, for conducting your search of the research literature.

Agricultural and Environmental Science
Cross-disciplinary database of full-text content along with indexing of global literature across these fields and related disciplines.
Agris (FAO, Agriculture, United Nations)
International database of 2.6 million+ references to world literature covering all aspects of agricultural sciences and technology. Includes gray literature not often available through other publication and distribution channels.
CAB Abstracts
Comprehensive database of the applied life sciences including animal and crop production, environmental impacts, nutrition, and veterinary science.
Google Scholar
Multi-disciplinary Web search engine to scholarly articles.
Note: Accessing Google Scholar through our libraries will help you to bypass paywalls (i.e retrieve more full-text through our subscriptions).
GreenFILE
Access to scholarly, government, and general-interest sources addressing environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments.Topics covered include climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Scopus
Large, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Web of Science
Collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, and more. Includes citation network data.

UW-Madison Newspaper Subscriptions

UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff have free access to The New York Times Digital and Wall Street Journal Online through the UW-Madison Libraries. Register for access and create an account by following the steps below.

The New York Times Digital
Wall Street Journal Online
Finding a Specific Newspaper
Instructions to find other newspapers, journals, or magazines

Getting to Full Text

Follow the "Find It at UW" link in most databases to:

obtain full article online (when available)
see if the journal is available in print (Library Catalog search)
request a copy of the article if the full article is not available online ("Request a Copy" link)

If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.

Or use the Bookmarklet
Set up a library bookmarklet to access articles without going through the Libraries website.

More Help

Ask a Librarian
Chat, text, email, or create a consultation with a librarian
Library Research Tutorials
Quick guides for accessing library resources

Browse Journals in Browzine

BrowZine is available for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. BrowZine lets you browse, read, save, and monitor scholarly journals in your subject areas on your mobile device or desktop/laptop.