Skip to Main Content

Veterinary Specialty Boards Reading List : Anesthesia and Analgesia (ACVAA)

Getting Full Text Articles & Book Chapters

Follow  Find It at UW button  (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:

  • access online full text (when available)
  • see if the journal or book is available in print if it is not accessible online
  • request a free pdf of the article or book chapter if full text is not available online (Request a Copy)

If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.

ACVAA Disclaimer

American College of Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia (ACVAA) Reading List

This is only a convenience copy of the ACVAA reading list to help find copies of reading materials in local libraries.  It does not replace the official ACVAA reading list. Candidates are responsible for ensuring they use the latest ACVAA reading list.

Access to Reading Materials

You have free access through the UW-Madison Libraries’ subscriptions to nearly any journal/article you will need. If you are on campus or using the campus VPN, you will often see a note on publishers’ websites that says ‘Access Provided by UW-Madison’. If you see this note, you will not be prompted for payment to get the full text of an article.  If this note isn't present and you encounter a paywall, you will likely still be able to get access through the UW-Madison Libraries. You may need to search for the article in a library database in order to find it or request a copy via ILL. 

Note: Increasingly journals are offering free and legal access to some or all of the articles they publish. Tools like Unpaywall may also allow you to freely and legally access some of the articles you’re interested in, once you have graduated and no longer have access to UW-Madison Libraries’ collections. 

American College of Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia (ACVAA) Reading List

Most recent editions.

Veterinary Anesthesia/Analgesia Textbooks | Human Anesthesia Textbooks | Pain | Physics | Physiology | Pharmacology | Anatomy | General Veterinary Medicine and Surgery

Veterinary Anesthesia/Analgesia Textbooks:

Human Anesthesia Textbooks:

Pain:

Pathology:

 

Physics:

Physiology:

Pharmacology:

Anatomy:

General Veterinary Medicine and Surgery:

Review for the last 5 years

 

Relevant anesthesia and analgesia related articles from:

This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American College of Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia (ACVAA) examination. 

Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.

Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.

"Candidates are advised to prepare for the examination by a systematic review of recent textbooks and periodicals. WE CANNOT DEFINE CONCLUSIVELY THE BODY OF KNOWLEDGE NECESSARY TO PASS THIS EXAMINATION. The following list is ONLY A GUIDELINE. Other selected chapters in different textbooks or articles in journals may be used by the candidates.  

"The examination questions and referenced answers are based on the list of textbooks below. The emphasis of the examination is on these recently published textbooks and research papers, however earlier principles reflected in key papers and references essential for the current practice of anesthesia and analgesia may be used."

Source: 2015 ACVAA Suggested Resources for Residents and Exam Candidates, American College of Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia.

This resource updated: 11/1/2022

Textbooks updated to most recent edition: 2/22/2022

Source reading list reviewed: 07/2022

Source reading list updated by specialty board: 07/2022

CC-BY

This guide was created from a template maintained by the Ohio State University Libraries and the Texas A&M University School of Veterinary Medicine & Biological Sciences. You can access the template at https://guides.osu.edu/VetBoardLists/. The template is licensed under creative commons, non-commercial use, share-alike, adaptations allowed. 

Get Help from Bioscience Team

Bioscience Team | Science & Engineering Libraries

 AskSEL@library.wisc.edu

 Schedule a consultation (via Zoom)

Emma Bekele | Steenbock Library

Jessica Newman | Steenbock Library

Barb Sisolak | Steenbock Library

Angel Tang | Steenbock Library