Skip to Main Content

Veterinary Specialty Boards Reading List : Ophthalmology (ACVO)

Getting Full Text Articles & Book Chapters

Follow  Find It at UW button  (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:

  • access online full text (when available)
  • see if the journal or book is available in print if it is not accessible online
  • request a free pdf of the article or book chapter if full text is not available online (Request a Copy)

If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.

ABVO Disclaimer

American Board of Veterinary Ophthalmology (ABVO) Reading List

This is only a convenience copy of the ABVO reading list to help find copies of reading materials in local libraries.  It does not replace the official ABVO reading list. Candidates are responsible for ensuring they use the latest ABVO reading list.

Access to Reading Materials

You have free access through the UW-Madison Libraries’ subscriptions to nearly any journal/article you will need. If you are on campus or using the campus VPN, you will often see a note on publishers’ websites that says ‘Access Provided by UW-Madison’. If you see this note, you will not be prompted for payment to get the full text of an article.  If this note isn't present and you encounter a paywall, you will likely still be able to get access through the UW-Madison Libraries. You may need to search for the article in a library database in order to find it or request a copy via ILL. 

Note: Increasingly journals are offering free and legal access to some or all of the articles they publish. Tools like Unpaywall may also allow you to freely and legally access some of the articles you’re interested in, once you have graduated and no longer have access to UW-Madison Libraries’ collections. 

American Board of Veterinary Ophthalmology (ABVO) Reading List

Textbooks

Atlases

"ABVO residents are responsible for knowing the published literature (see journals below) for the seven years prior to the year of their examination, e.g. for the 2021 examination, material is taken from manuscripts with a publication date* 2015 to 2021."

"Publication date: is defined as the date at which a publication is assigned to a journal issue. For journals which provide both electronic and printed versions, publications will have two dates, the first date when it comes out as 'ePub ahead of print' (DOI), and the second date when it is assigned to a specific issue of the printed journal.

In general, questions on the Multiple Choice (MC) examination will not be derived from case reports that involve single animals, although images from these case reports may appear in the Image Recognition (IR) examination."

Required Journals

 

Other Veterinary and Human Journals

"Supplemental questions may be derived from pertinent articles that appear in the journals below."

"The following texts and journal articles are considered recommended reading for veterinary ophthalmologists and ophthalmology residents. However, specific exam questions will not originate from these articles or books, most of which are out of print, but still available in many veterinary school libraries."

Textbooks

Journal Articles / "Classic Articles" List (Revised 11/2020)

"The following texts and journal articles are considered recommended reading for veterinary ophthalmologists and ophthalmology residents. However, specific exam questions will not originate from these articles or books, most of which are out of print, but still available in many veterinary school libraries."

This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American Board of Veterinary Ophthalmology (ABVO) (under the umbrella of the American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists) examination.

Source:  Suggested Resource Material for the ABVO Examination

This resource updated: 10/5/2022

Textbooks updated to most recent edition: 10/5/2022

Source reading list reviewed: 10/5/2022

Source reading list updated by specialty board: 12/21/2021

CC-BY

This guide was created from a template maintained by the Ohio State University Libraries and the Texas A&M University School of Veterinary Medicine & Biological Sciences. You can access the template at https://guides.osu.edu/VetBoardLists/. The template is licensed under creative commons, non-commercial use, share-alike, adaptations allowed. 

Get Help from Bioscience Team

Bioscience Team | Science & Engineering Libraries

 AskSEL@library.wisc.edu

 Schedule a consultation (via Zoom)

Emma Bekele | Steenbock Library

Jessica Newman | Steenbock Library

Barb Sisolak | Steenbock Library

Angel Tang | Steenbock Library