ED POL/HISTORY 143: History of Race and Inequality in Urban America (Spring 2025) : Citing & Writing

Your professor has asked you to use the "Notes/Bibliography" citation system from the Chicago Manual of Style/Turabian.  Here are resources for and examples of that citation system.

• The Chicago Manual of Style. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2006-. (Online):  Access to 17th & 16th editions.
  • Includes Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide 
    • Notes and Bibliography: Sample Citations
• The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2024. (Print)
• The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017. (Print)
• Chicago/Turabian Documentation from The Writing Center @UW-Madison
  • Notes/bibliography page

Citation managers are software that help you collect, organize, share, and cite sources that you find. 

More information about citation managers in general at What Is a Citation Manager?

Find out which citation managers the UW-Madison Libraries support at Citation Managers.

Writing Center: The Writing Center provides individual writing assistance appointments in-person and online.The Writing Center provides individual writing assistance appointments in-person and online.

The Writer's Handbook from the UW Writing Center is an online help guide to writing papers in college. The Handbook discusses how to improve your writing style, common college writing assignments, the stages of writing, grammar and punctuation, and how to cite references. 

The History Lab is a resource center for undergraduate students studying, researching, and writing about the past. It is staffed by experienced graduate students from the Department of History.  Through individual tutoring, the Lab focuses on honing students’ abilities to form topics, conduct research, develop arguments and thesis statements, cite evidence, and write effectively. 

To avoid plagiarism, view

• The Writing Center’s tips on Quoting and Paraphrasing.  
• UW-Madison Libraries' tutorial Introduction to Plagiarism.