Design Studies 501: Material Culture of Childhood (Spring 2021) : Primary Sources

Newspaper Databases

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2016)
This version of The New York Times includes full-text and full-image articles since its beginning year. Digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are available in downloadable PDF files.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) offers access to more than 17,000 news, legal and business sources, including print and online journals; television and radio broadcasts; newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-1995)
This version of The Los Angeles Times includes full-text and full-image articles since its beginning year. Digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are available in downloadable PDF files.

Women's Magazine Archive
Provides searchable access to the complete archives of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st.
more...less...
Content is still being added. The titles and their projected dates of coverage are: Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005), Chatelaine (1928 to 2005), Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005), Essence (1970 to 2005), Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005), Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 to 2005), Parents (1926 to 2005), Redbook (1903 to 2005), Seventeen (1970 to 2005), Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005), Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003).