HISTORY 450: Making of South Asia (Spring 2024) : Databases and Articles

JSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access more than 500 titles in many fields. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title.

The South Asia Archive is an extensive resource for students and scholars across the humanities and social sciences. The historical documents within the Archive are truly interdisciplinary, reflecting the varied range of knowledge production in colonial and early post-colonial India and the wider sub-continent.

South Asian Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive provides more than 400,000 fully searchable pages of newspapers published in South Asia dating from the 19th century. South Asian Newspapers features titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka and languages include English and Gujarati. The titles are cross-searchable with other modules of the World Newspaper Archive.

This version of The Times of India includes full-text and full-image articles since its beginning year. Digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are available in downloadable PDF files. In addition to news stories, the database includes editorials, letters to the editor, photos, and advertisements. It is possible to display the complete image of any page in any issue or even browse individual issues page by page. (Updated annually, current minus 10 years)

From 16th-century origins as a trading venture to the East Indies, through to its rise as the world’s most powerful company and de facto ruler of India, to its demise amid allegations of greed and corruption – the East India Company was an extraordinary force in global history for three centuries. This digital resource allows students and researchers to access a vast and remarkable collection of primary source documents from the India Office Records held by the British Library, the single most important archive for the study of the East India Company. From the Company’s charter in 1600 to Indian independence in 1947, East India Company tells the story of trade with the East; politics; and the rise and fall of the British Empire. It records the challenges of a globalising world and sheds light on many contrasting narratives – from records of powerful political figures, through to the lives of native populations and the individual traders who lived and worked at the edge of Empire. This incredible story is told through the manuscript records of the period, with over 1.2 million pages of content digitised. This ambitious project transforms the accessibility of these archival documents, with enhanced viewing and browsing tools allowing for easy navigation. This is simply an essential resource for scholarship of British imperial history; maritime trade; global commerce, and the history of the first great multinational corporation.