COM ARTS/ASIAN 443: Indian Cinema and Beyond (Fall 2023) : Find Films
Films
Books often provide background and comprehensive information about a topic. To find books and more on your topic, search the Library Catalog.
Kanopy
Kanopy is an excellent database, but it is quite expensive, and does not offer the ability to own any films, so if you find something on there that we do not own, chances are that we will not be able to rent the item for single viewing. In addition, a number of Kanopy items may be subtitled, but they are not often closed captioned and do not offer visual description.
- KanopyKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. The Libraries have subscriptions to the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation Collection and California Newsreel Collection.
Online Film Collections
- Films on DemandThousands of streaming educational videos from producers such as PBS, BBC, and National Geographic.
- Moving Image ArchiveInternet Archive's library of free movies, films, and videos, ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts, with ongoing updates
- Academic Video OnlineStreaming video collection spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Access includes documentary films and series from the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS). Users can filter results by publisher, release date, content type, and from the more than 40 langauges represented in the collection.
- LGBT Studies in VideoDocumentaries, interviews, and feature films explore the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people. Coverage of LGBT history and culture, civil rights, marriage equality, families, AIDS, transgender issues, and more.
- Filmakers Library OnlineInterdisciplinary resource of over 1,000 issue-based documentaries and independent films from the U.S. and other countries. Topics include: race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science, and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. Clips, playlists, etc., can be integrated into web pages and learning management systems either as links or embeds. (Complete: not updated)
Search Terms for Films
There are certain searches that will produce more results than others:
Make sure that you are including a place, such as:
- Asia, South Asia, India, Pakistan, Bhutan, Dhaka, etc.
Or language:
- Hindi, Tamil, Nepali, Tibetan, etc.
What are you interested within Film Studies:
- Motion Pictures, Mass Media, Motion Picture Industry, etc.
Types of film
- Drama, Action, Horror, Romance
What is an underlying theme?
- Gay, Lesbian, Abuse, Caste, Education, Child/Children, Dyslexia, Disability, Marriage, Arranged Marriage, etc.
Who is the director, the star, etc?
- Satyajit Ray, Deepa Mehta, Aamir Khan, Shabana Azmi, etc.
For Films, there are some things to keep in mind:
- Although with books in foreign languages, films use the official name, which does not involve Romanization. For example, for the film, search "Taare Zameen Par" not "Tāre zamīna para."
- Make sure that you are limiting the catalog by formats after you search (or before, if you are using advanced search), this way you can limit results to film, audio, or even items available online, etc.