- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- LIS 461: Data and Algorithms: Ethics and Policy (Summer 2021)
- Database Search Strategies
LIS 461: Data and Algorithms: Ethics and Policy (Summer 2021) : Database Search Strategies
Database Search Strategies
This tutorial shows you how to use database search strategies such as AND, OR, quotation marks, and truncation.
Searching Within Databases
This tutorial shows you how to search for articles in article databases. It shows you how to use AND to combine terms, limit to articles from scholarly journals or by date of publication, use subject headings and abstract to find keywords, find full text of articles, and use tools to generate or export citations.
- Identify the key concepts of your topic that you can use as keywords or search terms
- Keywords or search terms will usually be nouns or noun phrases
- Think of synonyms or alternate words for expressing your key concepts or search terms
- Use AND to combine different words to find all those words, in any order - fewer search results
- women AND computer science
- Use OR to combine similar words or synonyms or variations - more search results
- women OR female
- Use quotation marks ( " ") to search words as a phrase - fewer search results
- "computer science"
- Use an asterisk ( * ) to find varied endings of words and singular and plural forms - more search results
- comput* finds computer, computers, computing
- Look at Subject Terms to find additional keywords and use them to find relevant and specific results.
- Look for an option to limit to by source type on the left side of search results in most databases - fewer search results