Skip to main content

We are here to help

Contact Us

HISTORY 201: The Historian's Craft: World of Alexander Hamilton (Spring 2021) : Newspapers

Historical Newspaper Collections Online

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

Newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757–1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. Almost 1 million pages, approximately 1,270 titles.

America's Historical Newspapers (1690–1922)

For Alexander Hamilton-era newspapers, check "Series 1: From Colonies to Nation" and "Series 2: The New Republic" from dropdown list of databases next to the search bar.

Caribbean Newspapers (1718–1876)

This collection provides easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, cultures and daily life. Features more than 140 newspapers from 22 islands and chronicles two centuries with eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items. An important resource for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region.

Times (London) Digital Archive, The, 1785–1985

Page facsimiles of all the issues of the London Times. Search by keyword and date and limit search to sections such as: Advertising, Pictures, People, News, Editorials. Sundays are not included.

Physical Format Historic Newspapers

The Wisconsin Historical Society has Colonial and Early Republic-era newspapers both in their original paper format and on microfilm. Search by newspaper title to see what is available. (If you don't care about a specific newspaper title, try searching in one of the databases listed. If you are looking for a specific title, but don't know the title, contact a librarian).

Limit to physical items and UW-Madison:

Screenshot of the UW-Madison Libraries catalog search webpage with the words "American Daily Advertiser" entered in the search bar. Boxes for "Print/Physical Items" and "Limit to UW-Madison" are checked.

 

On the results screen, click on the title of the item you're interested in to read more information about it and see where it is located:

Catalog record for Claypoole's American Daily Advertiser newspaper. The physical location of the newspaper is noted in the right-hand column. This item is at the WHS State Archives Preservation Facility.

 

To access materials at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library & Archives, read the procedures here and please contact me with any questions.

On This Page

This page provides links to digital versions of newspapers printed during the Colonial and Early Republic eras of the U.S.

Also included is information about newspapers on microfilm and the collections of the Wisconsin Historical Society Library. 

To search for newspaper titles in the libraries' collections, use the Library Catalog.