Skip to main content

We are here to help

Contact Us

FRENCH 211: Exploring Paris (Spring 2021) : Locating Article Databases

This guide is designed for students of FRENCH 211 to help them with their library research.

Locating Article Databases

The following instructions will help you locate databases by name or by subject: Locating Article Databases

Literature & Film Databases

FTLI indexes 380 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and another 300 periodicals selectively. Abstracts are included since 2004, and more will be added in the future. Articles, film reviews, and book reviews from are included from both scholarly and popular film and TV sources. (Updated twice-monthly)

Literature Resource Center includes information on a large number of authors and literary works taken from Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twayne's Authors Online, and other sources. In addition to biographical information, LRC includes full-text articles from more than 130 literary journals, a dictionary of literary terms, and links to 5,000 relevant Web sites and special collections. (Updated continuously)

The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Searchable by subject, author, author-as-subject, title, etc. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. International coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. While the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Many articles listed have no abstracts. Many Find It links to full text from other providers such as JSTOR or Project Muse appear in the MLA. (Updated 10 times per year)

Project Muse provides full text access to more than 300 humanities and social science journals from various publishers. Disciplines covered include art, anthropology, literature, film, theatre, history, ethnic and cultural studies, music, philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology and women's studies.

Multi-Subject Databases

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over 100 journals and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. (Updated daily)

JSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access to more than 1,200 titles in the fields of African-American studies, anthropology, architecture, Asian studies, biological sciences, botany, ecology, economics, education, film, finance, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, middle east studies, music, philosophy, political science, population/demography, religion, sociology, and statistics. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title. The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal; it is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR. Graphs, photographs, and other images are included. UW-Madison Libraries have acquired the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XIV; Biological Sciences; Business; Ecology & Botany I-II; Health & General Sciences; Ireland; Language & Literature; Music. (Updated irregularly)

Gallica - National Library of France

Gallica is an "experimental server" with links to thousands of electronic text, image, animation, and sound files bearing on the nineteenth-century French experience. The literature subsection draws on texts of classic French literature from the 12th century onward. There are introductory pages for the following disciplinary groupings: History; Political Science; Law and Economics; Literature; Philosophy; Science and the History of Science. Most files are full-text/image, but more than 300 works are available in full-text/ASCII. A special strength is digitized photographs, of which this site had over 10,000 in early 1999. The site's general search engine is linked to under the term "Recherches-plein texte" (under "Consultation" in the general menu). Search interface available in English. (Updates vary)