Teaching with Primary Sources at UW : Selected Primary Source Digital Collections

A resource for incorporating historical primary sources into teaching.

Useful Databases for Historical Health Sciences Research

This curated chart indicates which of the databases provides primary material from newspaper, journals and other ephemera. Especially useful for studying the health sciences and their relationship to culture, society, economics, education, public health, race, racism, gender, disability, politics...nearly any subject you can imagine, has a component or relationship to nursing, pharmacy, medicine, etc.

https://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/c.php?g=933954&p=6732084

Select Digital Collections from Wisconsin Historical Society

1964 Freedom Summer Project
Access over 40,000 pages of official records of organizations, personal papers of movement leaders, letters, racist propaganda, diaries, images, newsletters and more.
GI Press Collection, 1964-1977
This collection contains page images and searchable text of about 900 periodicals created by or for U.S. military personnel during the Vietnam War era. Most were produced underground by U.S. soldiers or veterans who opposed the war, using mimeograph machines or other inexpensive technology.
Maps and Atlases
The Society owns more than 25,000 maps and atlases. The majority of them focus on Wisconsin, the Midwest, the United States and Canada. About 80 percent predate 1900.

Special Collections in UW Digital Collections

UW-Madison Special Collections

Access material from Special Collections is this UW Digital Collections database. Materials include Jesuit iconography, selections from Cairns Collection of American Women Writers 1650-1940, and others.