- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- HISTORY 366: Fascism Then & Now (Fall 2020)
- Spanish Civil War Primary Sources
HISTORY 366: Fascism Then & Now (Fall 2020) : Spanish Civil War Primary Sources
Wisconsin Historical Society Spanish Civil War Posters
The Wisconsin Historical Society holds a collection of Spanish Civil War posters. Alvah Bessie, who volunteered with the Abraham Lincoln Brigade during the Spanish Civil War, brought them back and donated them to the Society along with his papers.
In-Person Research
To see these posters in-person or do any other in-person research at the WHS Archives, follow these steps:
- Click on "Request for Reading Room Viewing" in the library catalog record.
- Submit the request by completing the form.
- Click here and scroll to the "Schedule Here' button to make an appointment in the archives.
Spanish Civil War Poster Digital Collections
-
Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design MuseumThe Cooper Hewitt does not break out their collection of Spanish Civil War posters into a separate gallery. Rather, this link leads to a listing of search results that are mostly (but not all) posters from the Spanish Civil War.
-
Library of CongressThe collection consists of approximately 120 posters created between 1936 and 1939 during the Spanish Civil War. Acquired by the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division from various sources, these posters give voice to the many conflicting agendas that contributed to the chaos in Spain during the Civil War.
-
UC - San DiegoImages digitized from originals in the UC San Diego collections include propaganda posters, newspaper photographs, postcards, drawings made by Spanish children in colonias, and more.
On This Page
This page provides links to digitized collections of posters from the Spanish Civil War. Most of the posters represent the Republican side of the conflict.
