HISTORY 201: The Historian's Craft: Crisis in Canada (Fall 2020) : Find Articles

History Databases

America : History and Life
America : History and Life indexes and abstracts more than 1700 social science and humanities journals in the field of United States and Canadian history. (See Historical Abstracts for non-North American coverage.) Links to full-text articles are included when available. Books and dissertations are included.
Economist Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive provides searchable, full-text access to every issue of the The Economist from 1843 to the present minus 5 years, covering political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments in the world.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts information in world history and the related social sciences and humanities, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Links to full-text articles are included when available. It lists articles covering the years 1450 to the present, including more than 2600 periodicals published in 90 countries in 40 languages. (See America: History and Life for U.S. and Canadian coverage.) Collections of essays, conference papers, dissertations, and books are also included.
More History databases

Use AND to combine different words to find all those words, in any order.
- French Revolution AND women
Use OR to combine similar words or synonyms or variations
- women OR gender
Use quotation marks ( " ") to search words as a phrase
- "French Revolution"
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find varied endings of words and singular and plural forms.
- femin* to find feminine, feminism, feminist
Use a question mark (?) to find one missing letter
- wom?n to find women, woman, or womyn
Look at Subjects to find additional keywords and use them to find relevant and specific results.
Look for an option to limit to Academic Journals on the left side of search results in most databases