Skip to Main Content

BOTANY 265: Rainforests and Coral Reefs (Fall 2023) : Find Scholarly Articles

Getting Full Text Articles & Book Chapters

Follow  Find It at UW button  (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:

  • access online full text (when available)
  • see if the journal or book is available in print if it is not accessible online
  • request a free pdf of the article or book chapter if full text is not available online (Request a Copy)

If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.

Save PDF of Articles

Download PDFs:  As you find articles in the UW-Madison Libraries databases, be sure to save a PDF of your article to your device. The option to download a PDF may look a little different on each of the articles you find. Look for the PDF icon and/or text that says "Download PDF" or similar language. 

Literature searching

undefinedAs a student at UW-Madison, you have access to a true wealth of information!  We subscribe to 1000's of journals,100's of databases, and  have a vast print collection. This page will help you search for articles on your topic, and locate the full-text.

Don't be stopped by paywalls - if you can't find the article in our collections, we can almost always get you a copy through interlibrary loan.

Databases are the best place to start when searching for scholarly articles.

 

 

Searching Databases

undefined

You can access databases from the library home page (library.wisc.edu). Use the dropdown menu at the Catalog button to navigate to Databases. We subscribe to many databases that index scientific literature. 

There are several ways to access databases: 

1) Search by the title of the database (for example, 'PubMed')

2) Use the Browse by Subject/Type page to discover databases that index literature on your research topic

3) Visit the Top 10 Databases page to access our most commonly used databases. 

 

The databases listed below are popular starting points for most science topics: