Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

We are here to help

Contact Us

Physics 205

Locating Article Databases

The UW-Madison Libraries subscribes to hundreds of databases that you can use to find scholarly research articles

 

Searching for a Database by Name

  1. From the UW-Madison Libraries homepage, select the word “Catalog” above the large search box. This will open a drop-down menu.
  2. Select “Databases” from the drop-down menu.
  3. Type the name of an article database into the search box and select the Submit button.
  4. When you receive the list of results, select the name of the article database. You will be taken to a new page.
  5. Select “Access Database” in the right column of the new page and thedatabase will open.

Searching for a Database by Topic

  1. From the UW-Madison Libraries homepage, select the “Catalog” above the large search box. This will open a drop-down menu.
  2. Select “Databases” from the drop-down menu.
  3. Select the “Browse by Subject/Type” link under the search bar.
  4. From the large list of subject areas, select an area that fits your research area. Each subject page contains a list of many article databases.These are divided into Core Databases, which contain information closely related to the subject area, and Also Helpful Databases, which are sometimes very specific and sometimes more peripherally related to the subject.
  5. Select a database name to see the time span as well as subjects and types of materials covered in that database.
  6. To use the database, select “Access Database” underneath the database name in the search results, or once you have selected the database name and arrived at the database information page.

Databases that have strong, multidisciplinary coverage of many subjects in the Biosciences and beyond:. 

Searching Within Databases

Database Search Strategies