As a researcher at UW-Madison, you now have access to a true wealth of information! This page will help you search, locate, and access the full text for articles, books, and journals for your research.

You can access Health Sciences Databases A-Z list which you can get to the library home page by clicking on More under Databases.

Remember to always access databases from the library's website or a research guide (like this one). This will give you access to content in a database that may otherwise be behind a paywall.

The databases listed below are popular starting points for most science topics:

The Ebling Library provides a wealth of discipline-specific research guides. These guides contain information resources tailored to individual disciplines, including library access to relevant databases, EBooks, journals, and more. To access Ebling's list of research guides, click here.

Below are some research guides that may be of interest:

• Clinical Resources
• Citation Management
• Systematic Reviews
• Getting Started with Your Literature Search 
• Basic and Applied Sciences

Citation Managers such as EndNote, EndNote Basic, Mendeley, and Zotero can help you to:

• Download citations from online databases
• Format bibliographies and citations in papers
• Share your citations with others.

For additional information, tutorials, and instructions on how to download and use citation managers, please visit the Citation Managers Guide.

For a comprehensive list of citation styles and guidelines, visit the Citing Sources research guide.

1. Get Your Wiscard

Students can get a Wiscard through the University's Wiscard Office. For information on how to do this, visit this page.

2. Activate Your NetID

After you have your Wiscard, you will need to activate your NetID and password in order to use library resources from off-campus. To do this:

• Go to the NetID activation page
• Enter the 11-digit number on your Wiscard and your date of birth

3. Access Resources Off-Campus

To access library resources off-campus you will want to access them either through:

• One of the library's research guides, like this one
• The library's web page

If you're not already logged in, clicking a link to the resource from any of the above pages will redirect you to a login screen, where you can enter in your NetID credentials. This will allow you to access links to full text materials that may otherwise be behind a paywall.

You can also access materials off-campus through the library's Bookmarklet Tool. Click here for information on how to access and use the tool.

Find It

If the library doesn't have access to a full text article you can request the full text through the library's Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Service.

Locate articles when you have a citation using Citation Search.

Below are some helpful services the Ebling Library offers. You can also access these from the library's HELP page.

• Chat : Instant message a librarian in real-time
• Email: Ask librarians reference questions via email
• Subject Liaisons: Find your department's library liaison
• Hours and Location: Access updated information about the Ebling Library's location and hours
• Library Phone Number: (608) 262 2020