ART HIST 107: The Body, Sex, and Health in Art (Spring 2023) : Home
Your Librarian
Sex, Body, and Health Library and Museum Collections
- Wellcome CollectionA free museum and library exploring health and human experience. Digital collections cover a wide variety of topics, and are particularly strong in the areas of mental health, sex and sexual health, genetics, public health, and 19th-century books.
- Mütter Museum19th century museum of medical history located in Philadelphia. Oriented towards unique specimens and medical objects. Limited online digital collections but a good resource for inspiration.
Reference Sources for Exploring Your Topic/Object
- Grove Art Online (contained within Oxford Art Online)Online full-text version of a 34 volume encyclopedia with signed entry articles written by art historians.
- The Met's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryAn overview of art history, the Heilbrunn Timeline pairs essays and works of art with chronologies,
telling the story of art and global culture
through the Museum’s collection.
Major Art Research Databases (Articles)
- Art Full TextThorough coverage of arts of all periods and regions; includes citations or full text for 750+ art journals. Coverage from 1984-present
- ARTbibliographies ModernABM focuses on art from the late 19th century to the present.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtFocuses on European/American art from c. 400 A.D. to the present. Includes citations from 1975-2007. See International Bibliography of Art for continuation.
- JSTOR: the scholarly journal archiveContains full text of c. 120 art-related journals. Recent years are omitted.
- Art & Architecture ePortalOnline collection of key backlist and out-of-print scholarly works in the fields of art and architectural history published by: The Art Institute of Chicago, The MIT Press, Yale University Press, Harvard Art Museums, and the Yale University Art Gallery. The portal allows the user to browse all images (by artist, title, or date) and allows instructors to easily create custom course packs.
Databases for Gender/Health/Medicine
- GenderWatchAcademic Covers gender, women, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) issues from an array of academic, radical, community, and independent presses.
- Academic SearchLarge, multidisciplinary EBSCO database encompassing most topics.
- History of Science, Technology & MedicineContains journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
Accessing Full Text of Articles Online
FINDING FULL TEXT OF AN ARTICLE IN A DATABASE
In Articles Search
When you find an article of interest in Articles Search ...
If the article shows "Article: Available Online":
- Click "Show online links."
- Click the blue link for a resource that has the article available.
If the article shows "Article: Requestable":
- Click "Request a copy" link.
- Fill in form (it may be pre-filled).
- Click "Submit Request."
The article will be sent to you electronically. You will receive an email when the article is available online to download.
In an article database
When you find an article of interest in one of the databases listed in Databases pages ...
Look for the full text version (PDF, HTML, Linked)
If no full text available:
- Click red "Find It" button or "Find It @UW-Madison" link.
- Click on a blue link under "from this source."
- Check the dates of availability below the blue link.
If no sources for availability through Find it:
- Click "Request a copy if not available online (1-9 days)."
- Fill in form (it may be pre-filled)
- Click "Submit Request."
The article will be sent to you electronically. You will receive an email when the article is available online to download.
If you need assistance, please use the Ask a Librarian service.
FINDING FULL TEXT OF AN ARTICLE FROM A CITATION
Use Articles Search
- Go to Articles Search.
- Type in the article title, or other citation information, and click "Submit."
- Follow instructions above for "In Articles Search."
The following method below will always work to determine if the Library has access to the article. Article Search does not contain all the article content to which the Libraries have access.
Use Journals Search
- Go to Journals Search.
- Type in the journal title and click "Submit."
- Click the title in the list of results that corresponds to the journal in which the article appeared.
- Click blue link under "Online Access" on the right side of Catalog entry for the journal.
- Search the title of the article to find the entry for the article in a database or journal subscription.
- Look for link for PDF download.
If you need assistance, please use the Ask a Librarian service.