Skip to main content

We are here to help

Contact Us

ASIAN 300: Foodways of Asia (Spring 2021) : Primary Sources on Chinese Studies

Newspapers in Chinese
 

People’s Daily 人民日报

  • 1946 to present
  • The official voice of China's central government and published a current circulation of 3 million
  • Scanned newspaper layouts with searching in full-text

Xinhua Net 新华网

  • Open Access
  • The largest news agency in the world 
  • This website covers the latest news published in the Xinhua Daily Telegraph (新华每日电讯), Economic Information Daily (经济参考), Outlook Daily (瞭望), China Comment (半月谈), International Herald Leader (国际先驱导报), Globe (环球), Oriental Outlook (瞭望东方周刊), China Image (中国图品在线), Reference News (参考消息), and China Financial Weekly (财经国家周刊).

China Core Newspapers Database 中国重要报纸全文数据库

  • Expected to be available through March 31, 2021
  • 2000 to present
  • Covers more than 19.4 million articles of full-text newspapers and continually update

Historical documents in Chinese
 

Chinese Periodical Full-text Database 民国时期期刊全文数据库

  • 1911-1949
  • Provides over 20,000 journal titles to study the history of the Republic of China
  • Available at full-text search within text and images

Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers

  • Qing Dynasty, the years of the provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic
  • VPN required

Shen Bao 申報 

  • 1872-1949
  • The longest-lasting and probably the most influential newspaper in modern China

Ancient books in Chinese
 

Diaolong Full-text Database of Chinese and Japanese Ancient Books 雕龙数据库

  • Expected to be available through March 31, 2021
  • Ancient books include local gazettes, 六府文藏, 四库全书

Scripta Sinica 漢籍

  • the largest Chinese full-text database
  • Select 免費使用when access to this resource
      

Chinese Frontier Historical Geographic Database 边疆历史地理数据库

  • Expected to be available through March 31, 2021
  • Integrates classic historical-geographic documents, border historical-geographic documents, and ethnic historical relations documents
  • Sign up to access

Librarian - Chinese and Korean

Profile Photo
Anlin Yang
Contact:
412E Memorial Library
University of Wisconsin-Madison
728 State St.
Madison, WI 53706
Subjects: East Asia

Data resources in Chinese
 

China Data Insights中国经济社会大数据研究平台

  • Expected to be available through March 31, 2021
  • Also available in English
  • online viewing only – no downloading

China Yearbooks Database 中国年鉴网络出版总库

  • Expected to be available through March 31, 2021
  • Covers multiple fields

National Data 国家数据

  • Open access
  • Official data from the National Bureau of Statistics
  • Also available English