Skip to Main Content

HISTORY 363: China and World War II in Asia (Spring 2022) : Secondary Sources in Chinese

Bibliography of Asian Studies Online

  • Lists journal articles about Asia in Western language journals and books. Citations to books were discontinued in 1992.

China Academic Journals (CNKI 中国知网中国期刊全文数据库)  (NetID required)

  • It is the largest academic journal full-text database in the world. It collects over 7000 academic journals published in China.
  • It provides English and Chinese versions. 

Dissertations of China (DOC 万方) (NetID required)

  • It contains over 1 million master, Doctoral, and Post-doctoral dissertations and theses from major Chinese research institutions, the majority of which are available in full-text.
  • Topics covered include humanities and social sciences. 

Du Xiu Database (读秀) (NetID required

  • Duxiu is a comprehensive bibliographical index database. It covers periodicals, graduates theses, and conference proceedings, except for over 2,7000,000 books.
  • Duxiu provides full-text access to over 2 million core Chinese monographs and journals, as well as over 500 yearbooks in Chinese.
  • Available to use 图书馆文献传递 to access materials.

Historical Abstracts (NetID required)

  • History database that provides access to journal articles that cover topics related to world history.
  • For U.S. and Canadian history, see America: History and Life.

Hong Kong Journals Online (香港期刊在綫 HKJO)

  • It s a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong.
  • The issues included in this database with the earliest going back to 1872. Currently, it provides over 60 titles in this database.

National Social Sciences Database (国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库) 

  • It contains over one million master, Doctoral, and Post-doctoral dissertations and theses from major Chinese research institutions, the majority of which are available in full-text. 

NCL Taiwan Periodical Literature (國家圖書館期刊文獻資訊網 Periopath)

  • National Central Library index to academic journal articles published in Taiwan from over 5,500 journals. Full-text articles are available for some journals. It is also known as Periopath.