Skip to Main Content

HISTORY 363: China and World War II in Asia (Spring 2022) : Primary Sources in English

General search hints

  • Most English-language primary sources will be from a U.S., British, or other English-speaking country's perspective.
  • Most databases and catalogs have options for limiting searches or results by date. 
    • Limiting by date in a database can make a results list in that database much more relevant and manageable.
    • Limiting by date in a library catalog is less helpful because some primary sources are published or reprinted years after the event.
  • Consider using synonyms in your searches. It's especially important for assignments in this course because...
    • Language changes over time. Primary sources will use the terms used at the time the sources were created.
      • Example:  People didn't use the phrase "World War One" to refer to the 1914-1918 War until after the second World War (and they didn't always use the term "World War Two" while that war was being fought).
    • People from different cultures will use different terms, or spellings, to refer to the same things.
      • Example: British spelling: "defence"   American spelling: "defense"
    • Transliteration systems "are used to convert words from one writing system to another. Words written in non-Roman writing systems (e.g., Arabic, Russian, [Chinese]), may be transliterated into Roman letters in various ways. This can create problems when searching in a library catalog or database. Try variations to get good results." (Patricia Hardesty, Africa, Asia, Middle East Subject Guide, James Madison University Libraries, 2015.)
  • When using synonyms in a search, connect each synonym with the word OR and group the synonyms in parentheses.
    • Example: (Nanking OR Nanjing)

About "databases," the containers for many primary sources

Many of the primary sources we recommend for this course are in library "databases."  Think of library databases as containers, or streaming channels, for full-text articles, as well as some electronic books, digital images and movies, and digital versions of historical documents.  Some documents will be in more than one database; some will only be in one database.

 

Accessing databases

Many of these databases are ones that the UW-Madison Libraries pay a subscription fee to have access to (like a streaming service).  To access these databases, you have to use a link from a UW-Madison Libraries page, like the Libraries home page, or a course guide like this one.  When you click a link to access a database, you may be asked to log in with your UW-Madison netID and password.

When you click on a database name in this course guide, we'll usually take you to a page describing the database. Click on "Access database" in the upper right corner of that page to get into the database itself.

Profile Photo
Beth Harper
Contact:
Memorial Library
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Government Information Specialist

Librarian

Profile Photo
Cynthia Bachhuber
she/her
Contact:
Wisconsin Historical Society Library
816 State Street
Madison, WI 53714
608-264-6535

East Asian Studies Librarian

Profile Photo
Anlin Yang
she/her/hers
Contact:
412E Memorial Library
University of Wisconsin-Madison
728 State St.
Madison, WI 53706
(608) 890-1783
Subjects: East Asia