- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- HISTORY 363: China and World War II in Asia (Spring 2022)
- Archival Collections at the Wisconsin Historical Society
HISTORY 363: China and World War II in Asia (Spring 2022) : Archival Collections at the Wisconsin Historical Society
On this page
On this page you'll find links to catalog records for archival collections at the Wisconsin Historical Society. To learn more, click on the link and read through the item summary. There may be link on the catalog record under the heading "Related Electronic Resources"
Click the link to view the finding aid, where you can read more about what is in the collection. To see this material, go to the Archives on the 4th floor of the Wisconsin Historical Society.
Selected Collections
-
Edward Hunter papers, 1922-1960Papers of a foreign correspondent, author, and China specialist.
-
John Earl Baker papers, 1916-1952Papers of John Earl Baker, a railway and road building expert who was a director of famine relief in China for several decades. Included is extensive correspondence from Baker, chiefly to his family discussing daily life, his work, and political events.
-
Madison China Aid Council records, 1938-1944Correspondence and financial records of the Madison branch of the national China Aid Council, an affiliate of the United China Relief Organization; included are extracts from letters written by Dr. and Mrs. Philip Greene, Americans working in Chinese hospitals during World War II.
-
Malcolm Leviatt Rosholt papers, 1943-1972, 1992-1994Papers of a journalist and author, the bulk of which relate to his United States military service in China during World War II, and taped interviews with early Wisconsin residents.
-
Oral history interview with Horatio B. Hawkins 1963nterviews, November, 1963, by William Schereck of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin with Horatio B. Hawkins, relating to his career in China with the Imperial Maritime Customs and the Chinese Maritime Customs Service, 1906-1908, 1912-1940; the operation of the customs service in China; and his work with the U.S. Foreign Economic Administration in India and China, 1945-1946.
-
Paul S. Reinsch papers, 1835-1924, 1963Papers of Paul Samuel Reinsch, professor of political science at the University of Wisconsin, 1901-1913, and minister to China, 1913-1919. Some correspondence relates to his teaching career, but most of the papers concern his service in China as a United States diplomat and as legal and financial counselor to the Chinese government after his resignation as minister.
-
Stanley Kuhl Hornbeck interview, 1965Recording and transcription of an interview, June 8, 1965, with Stanley K. Hornbeck, Washington, D.C., conducted by Professor John DeNovo and Noel Puguch, University of Wisconsin, at Madison; concerning his service with the U.S. State Department in China and as ambassador to the Netherlands, with special reference to his association with Paul S. Reinsch.
-
U.W. Chinese students manifesto, 1927Manifesto of the Chinese students at the University of Wisconsin regarding the state of affairs in China.
About Archives
This page provides guidance on finding archival material pertinent to your research area.
But what, exactly are archives? Unlike materials held in libraries, which have all been published (meaning, they were created with the intention of making many copies available to many people), archives are unpublished material. They are evidence of everyday life and business created for a purpose other than having them used by outside people. Archives can be any format of material, such as letters, diaries, meeting minutes, photographs, or tweets. Archival collections are kept together in groups based on their creator.
Librarian
816 State Street
Madison, WI 53714