Skip to Main Content

HISTORY 363: China and World War II in Asia (Spring 2022) : Newspapers and periodicals in Chinese

China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980

  • It is based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library in London, supplemented by additional sources from Cambridge University Library, the Church Missionary Society Archive, the Council for World Missions Library, Duke University, the National Archives at Kew, the Alexander Turnbull Library at the National Library of New Zealand and Yale Divinity Library. In addition, it has included a range of rare printed materials including missionary periodicals, atlases, and books which help to contextualize the other sources.
  • The database is available at full-text search within text and images.

Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (民国时期期刊全文数据库) 1911-1949 (NetID required)

  • This database covers over 20,000 journal titles and contains a mass of information on all aspects of life, including political, economic, military, social, and livelihood. It provides first-hand information to study the history of the Republic of China.
  • The database is available at full-text search within text and images.

Early Chinese Periodical Online -1949 (ECPO)

  • The Academia Sinica provides the newspapers published before 1949 in Chinese-language. The multiple 小報 (entertainment newspapers) are available in this database. 

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) 1941-1996 (NetID required)

  • The Readex FBIS electronic database consists of scanned copies of the paper issues of the various FBIS Daily Reports. In 1947 Foreign Broadcast Monitoring Service (FBMS) was renamed the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Its original mission was centered on radio and press agency monitoring and translation. 

Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (NetID required)

  • It provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of the provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
  • The database is available at full-text search within text and images.

National Library of Public Information: Old Newspapers (國立公共資訊圖書館: 舊報紙數位典藏服務網)

  • The National Library in Taiwan provides the following digitalized historical newspapers: 中國日報, 內外タイムス, 商工日報, 國際現勢周刊, 外交部週報, 大華新聞, 天聲日報, 太倉明報, 工人報, 成都日報.

Old Hong Kong Newspapers 1853-1991 (香港舊報紙)

  • It is a full-text accessible database of the digitalized images for some old Hong Kong Newspapers. The database includes 香港工商日報 (1926-1984), 香港工商晚報 (1930-1984), 華僑日報 (1947-1991), 香港華字日報 (1895-1940), 香港華字晚報 (1937-1938),大公報 (1938-1991), 天光報 (1933-1940), 遐邇貫珍 (1853-1856),  循環日報 (1874 -1886), China Mail (1866-1961), Hong Kong Daily Press (1864-1941), and Hong Kong Sunday Herald (1929-1950).

Pictorial for the Current Situation 1905-1913 (時事畫報)

  • The Cornell University Library digitalized the historical newspaper and shared it with the public. the newspaper was founded in Guangzhou in September 1905. It was stopped publication in 1913, which was published in 142 issues in the period. It is the earliest lithographic pictorial in China.

Propaganda and the Chinese Press: Global Perspectives 1946-1996 (NetID required)

  • It is a digital archive of articles published by Xinhua, or New China News Agency, from 1946 to 1996. The materials were collected and translated into English by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) as part of its intelligence-gathering operations. 

Shen Bao 申報 1872-1949 (NetID required)

  • It was the longest-lasting and probably the most influential newspaper in modern China. Its history is enmeshed in the major Chinese political and cultural developments of the first half of the twentieth century.
  • The database is available at full-text search within text and images.

Ta Kung Pao Full Text Database 大公報 1902-1949 (NetID required)

  • Ta Kung Pao is the oldest active Chinese language newspaper in China. Founded in Tianjin in 1902, the paper is state-owned. it covers a range of political, economic, and cultural topics.
  • The database is available at full-text search within text and images.

Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpo 1898-1944 (台灣日日新報) (NetID required)

  • This newspaper was an official newspaper of the Taiwan government under Japanese colonial rule. The paper was published in Japanese from 1898-1944 and added Chinese text from 1905-1911. 

The Eastern Miscellany 1904-1948 (東方雜志)

  • The full-text database provides 東方雜志 with over 30,000 articles, 12,000 pictures, and 14,000 advertisements from 44 volumes and 819 periods.