Skip to Main Content

HISTORY 363: China and World War II in Asia (Spring 2022) : Full-text government publications in English, 1945-to present

Collections that include only documents from 1945 or later

Chinese Foreign Policy Database

  • From the Wilson Center Digital Archive, which “contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy. The Digital Archive is overseen by the Wilson Center's History and Public Policy Program and focuses on the interrelated histories of the Cold War, Korea, and nuclear proliferation."   
  • "Curating 1000s of documents from Chinese and international archives, [this database] offers insights into China’s foreign policy since 1949 and its relationship to ideology, revolution, the economy, and traditional Chinese culture.”
  • Can search the collection by typing key words in the search box at the top left of the page, above the “Wilson Center” logo.  
    • Links to “collections” related to search terms will appear at the top of the results list, followed by links to individual documents.
  • For more information on the source of an individual document, click “Document information” at the very bottom of the column on the right.
  • If you can't find the main page of the database, click "themes" in the upper part of the page. Then click "Chinese Foreign Policy Database."
  • About the Wilson Center.
  • Results are in html only; the database does not have PDFs of documents

 

Digital National Security Archive, 1945-present

  • Includes over 35,000 declassified primary documents relating to US foreign policy since 1945 grouped in 20+ collections.
  • Documents compiled and organized by the National Security Archive, an independent non-governmental research institute and library which collects and publishes documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act.
  • Extensive record descriptions and full text included.

 

U.S. Declassified Documents Online, 1945-1970s

  • Includes documents made available through the Freedom of Information Act from the period immediately after World War II through the 1970's.
  • We recommend using the “advanced” search (click “advanced” under the search box in the upper left portion of the page) for more structure and options.
  • Documents are available as keyed searchable texts and as digital facsimiles.
  • Not updated.

 

U.S. Intelligence on Asia, 1945-1991

  • Declassified U.S. government documents from the U.S. intelligence community in East Asia and Southeast Asia during the Cold War (1945-1991).
  • Does not work well in Chrome.  You may need to
    • ...use a different browser (like Microsoft Edge).
    • ...in Chrome, update browser Settings to allow pop-ups. (September 2021).

Ask a Librarian

 

Need help?

Loading chat

or click for more options ...

United Nations documents, 1945-present

United Nations Digital Library, 1945-present

  • We recommend using the advanced search.
  • To search the full text of documents, click the “Fulltext search” button on the left to move it to the “on” position.
  • Contains citations to United Nations publications and documents from 1979 forward, including UN sales publications, selected periodical articles, Official Records, and mimeographed documents from UN bodies and committees.
  • Many citations include links to the full text of UN documents, especially recent documents.