HISTORY 363: China and World War II in Asia (Spring 2022) : Citing and References
Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?
Citing Sources - resources and examples of citation styles
Citing Government Publications - resources for citing U.S. government documents
UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).
Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.
Use citation managers to organize your references and create bibliographies.
Writing Assistance
-
Writing CenterThe Writing Center provides individual writing assistance to students by appointment.
-
Writer's HandbookThe Writer's Handbook was designed by the Writing Center as an online help guide to writing papers in college. The Handbook discusses how to improve your writing style, common college writing assignments, the stages of writing, grammar and punctuation, and how to cite references.
-
Writer's Handbook: Annotated BibliographiesWriting Center overview on how to build an annotated bibliography, including helpful tips on writing style and format.
Citing Sources
Tracking the references
Try Connected Paper to access the citation network
Manage your References
Citation managers help you collect references and files from online databases, share references with others, and format citations and bibliographies. The following tools are supported by UW-Madison Libraries.
-
EndNoteEndNote is desktop citation management software. It may be more appropriate if you are writing for publication.
-
EndNote BasicEndNote Basic is a Web-based citation manager free to UW-Madison staff and students that can be used as a standalone citation manager or in conjunction with EndNote Desktop.
-
MendeleyMendeley is a free, Web and desktop-based citation manager and academic networking tool. Free version comes with 1GB storage space and private group up to 3 members.
-
ZoteroZotero is an open source citation manager and academic social networking tool. Two versions include a Firefox browser extension and Zotero standalone that works with other browsers.